The Weight of Silence

“I never asked Griff what he had said to Calli, and even worse, I never asked Calli.” – The Weight of Silence

I finished reading The Weight of Silence by Heather Gudenkauf a few days ago. I had been wanting to read this one for about two years now… in all honesty it was the cover that drew me in simply because I have the same exact music charm necklace! I put it on reserve as an ebook through the library and was super excited to get to download my first library lend to my kindle!

The book was not so much of what I had expected, but I was still very satisfied. The reviews on Amazon are not so great, but this was a quick and easy read – sometimes that’s a good thing! I love a good page turner, but complex books are sometimes a lot to take on. The story is based around two girls that go missing early one morning. One is the daughter of an obvious town drunk and the parents of the other are very quick to accuse him of taking their daughter as well. The book is split up into chapters that are told by different characters that take part in the search to find the missing girls.

I do have to agree with other reviews on Amazon that some of the plot points were underdeveloped. Some things could easily have been omitted and it would have saved a lot of reading time without taking away from the story. Over all, I did enjoy this book and would recommend it if you’re looking for a quick read. I glanced back at a 2 and a half year old “To Read” list and another one of Gudenkauf’s books is on it, so I think I will give it a shot later.

Up Next: What the Dead Know by Laura Lippman
(My SECOND library book on my Kindle!)

One thought on “The Weight of Silence

Leave a Reply

