What the Dead Know


This was my second Laura Lippman book. It was long. Long long long. Seemed even longer on my Kindle when I couldn’t flip through and see how much longer it actually was going to last. Good plot, good idea, but… long. The twist was great. Then it went back to being long.

Basic plot of this book is that two young girls go missing from a mall. Jump ahead later and a woman in a hit-and-run accident claims to be one of those girls. However, she won’t give up her current identity or any of the details the police want because she doesn’t trust them so they can’t check it out to make sure she’s telling the truth. The big twist comes when the missing girl’s mother arrives from Mexico to see the face of the woman claiming to be one of her missing daughters.

Honestly, I was disappointed in this book. It just dragged on. It feels it could have been so much better. I didn’t get home and want to skip my workout to read it. It actually took me almost two weeks to read which – if any of you have figured out – is a long time for me to take to read a book.

I wouldn’t suggest skipping this one perse, but it’s not going to be top of my list to suggest.

Up Next: Perfect Fifths by Meghan McCafferty

Leave a Reply

