My Running Playlist

Half-marathon training has been going well and I’ve been doing pretty well sticking to my running schedule. I get up at 5 am a few days a week and hit the gym in the morning and do my long runs on Sunday’s. I need some pretty good music to get through those early morning runs and Sunday runs when I’d rather be relaxing! I often notice people posting on Facebook asking for good songs for their workout mix, so I thought I’d share what I have on mine so far.

1. State of Grace – Taylor Swift (I like to start things out a little slow and relaxing.)
2. Feel Again – OneRepublic (Such a feel good song, it really gets me going.)
3. She’s on Fire – Train (One of my all-time favorite Train songs. “Well it’s not just a day dream if you decide to make it your life.”)
4. Gone, Gone, Gone – Phillip Phillips (My favorite on his album and such a fun beat!)
5. Hall of Fame – The Script featuring will.i.am
6. Stronger (What Doesn’t Kill You) – Kelly Clarkson (I’ve been running to this song for months and have yet to get sick of it.)
7. Try – Pink (“Just because it burns doesn’t mean you’re gonna die, you’ve gotta get up and try try try.”)
8. Better Than Revenge – Taylor Swift (Just a fun song that I like.)
9. Every Teardrop is a Waterfall – Coldplay (One of my favorite Coldplay songs)
10. The Sound – Switchfoot (This one gets me pumped.)
11. The City – Madeon (Found this one searching for playlists ideas and I liked the beat.)
12. Good Ol’ Days – The Script (Favorite song on their album.)
13. Good Time – Owl City & Carly Rae Jepsen (Just a fun one that makes me want to dance.)
14. My Body – Young the Giant (Pretty sure this is a drinking song, but also translates to distance running.)
15. Red – Taylor Swift (Again, just another fun song with a good beat. I like feel-good music when I run.)
16. Let it Roll – Flo Rida (Flo Rida always makes me want to dance!)
17. The War Inside – Switchfoot (One of my favorite songs to run to, the lyrics are great for that mental road block.)
18. Livin’ On a Prayer – Bon Jovi (It will take me about 2 hours to run the half marathon, so this song will fall about an hour into my run.)
19. Carry On – Fun (Just hit the half-way mark, gotta keep going!)
20. Part of Me – Katy Perry (Great beat, great lyrics.)
21. The Fighter – Gym Class Heroes ft. Ryan Tedder (I feel I’ll really need some inspiration during the second half of my run.)

That’s it for now! This playlist is about an hour and 20 minutes which is all I need for now. I’ll update with my final playlist sometime before the race. 2.5 months to go!

Leave a Reply

