13 Things in 2013

Well, it’s been a while. 10 months to be exact. Part of my hiatus has to do with everything I’m about to list below. A bigger part was due to the fact that my computer was just too old to use in a productive way – 8 years old to be exact… yes, it was a Mac! I’m back in action now so to start things off here is 13 things I did in 2013!

1. Ran my first half marathon.
Pretty self-explanatory.

I did it! Finished in 2:05.
I did it! Finished in 2:05.

2. Went to my first wedding(s) in Ohio.
I know this doesn’t seem exciting, but it was a pretty big deal to me to be invited to two wedding’s for friend’s in Ohio!

My BEAUTIFUL friend/coworker, Heather.
My BEAUTIFUL friend/coworker, Heather.

3. Made our own pickles.
Grew the cucumbers ourselves and then pickled them. They turned out delicious.

YUM! I didn't say everything on this list would be exciting :-)
YUM! I didn’t say everything on this list would be exciting 🙂

4. Went to NYC for business (twice!)
I hadn’t been to the Big Apple in 8 years, so it was pretty fun to take two trips in one year. Both were short and exhausting, but I was able to grab dinner with a friend on the second trip which made it pretty worth it.

View from my hotel room.
View from my hotel room.

5. Fulfilled my dream of performing in Les Miserables!
Les Miserables has been my favorite show since I was in elementary school, so when I heard a local community theater group was holding auditions I jumped on the chance to participate. One of my best friend’s was also in the show and of course I also met some amazingly talented & wonderful people.

Myself and Erin, who obviously played Eponine.
Myself and Erin, who obviously played Eponine.

6. Celebrated our first wedding anniversary.
Our leftover cake was just as delicious as it was on our wedding day. We enjoyed dinner at a local restaurant and Kevin got me a beautiful necklace and earring set.

One year down.
One year down.

7. Played more lacrosse.

Runnin' and gunnin'
Runnin’ and gunnin’

8. Ran on the trail – a LOT!
I spent at least one morning almost every weekend racking up the miles.

Just me, my music, the trail... and some occasional runners & bikers.
Just me, my music, the trail… and some occasional runners & bikers.

9. Attended my first Ohio State football game.
And my second, third, and fourth. Go Buckeyes!

Script Ohio!
Script Ohio!

10. Ran my second half marathon – and got a PR!
I know it’s pretty easy to get a PR when it’s only a second half marathon, but I finished my first in 2:05 and my second in 1:52 so that was a pretty big achievement for me. I wouldn’t be surprised if that remained my PR. My sister also ran the same race which was her first half and beat my original time of 2:05.

Myself and my sister after we finished the half marathon.
Myself and my sister after we finished the half marathon.

11. Spent a lot of time with friends.
I LOVE my friends in Ohio! In order to keep this list from being 2,013 (ha!) items long, I’m just condensing fun times with friends into one item.

Caroline, Allison, and I after watching the OSU v. Michigan game!
Caroline, Allison, and I after watching the OSU v. Michigan game!

12. Hosted our third Thanksgiving.

Thanksgiving 2013
Thanksgiving 2013

 

13. Changed positions at my job.
Our company reorganized our departments and I was moved into the adops department. Shortly after that, our manager reorganized the department and I went from being an account planner to a digital account manager. It’s a very busy, but very fun change.

Well there you have it! Thats my 2013 in a 13 item nutshell. Here’s to more good times in 2014.

Leave a Reply

