Runners Don’t Need a Reason to Run, but We’ll Always Run for a Reason

I love being part of the running community. As my blog post title states, “Runners don’t need a reason to run, but we’ll always run for a reason.” Since I’ve brought my blog back to life and have been following some other runners I just want to make sure to get the word out there about Meg’s Miles, an extraordinary example of the bond runners share.

This past Monday Meg Cross Menzies, a 34-year-old mother of three, was struck and killed by a drunk driver during her morning run.  She was a Boston qualifier and a member of the Richmond Road Runners club. In response, people have pledged nationwide to run on Saturday in her memory. “No matter what your distance, no matter where you live, run for Meg. Take in the fresh air, be aware of your surroundings, keep your headphones on low, feel the heaviness in your lungs, the soreness in your legs, and be grateful for it–for all of it. The sweat, the pain, the wind, the cold…everything. Be grateful for that moment.”

I feel connected to this for a few reasons. I went to college in Richmond which holds some big memories for me (it’s where I met my husband!). My sister still lives in the area and is also a runner. My last race of 2013 was the American Family Fitness Half Marathon which is part of the Richmond Marathon. Saturday, I will dedicate my run to Meg. Will you?

Check out more information from the Runners World article (very happy they wrote about and shared this) and/or join the Facebook event. If you’re feeling extra generous, buy a t-shirt – the proceeds will benefit her husband and three children.

One thought on “Runners Don’t Need a Reason to Run, but We’ll Always Run for a Reason

Leave a Reply

