“Endure for the Cure”

Last week I got the sad news that an aunt of a good childhood friend had lost her battle to cancer. This was the same week I learned that my mother’s cousin had lost her battle to cancer. A few days prior to that, another friend posted on Facebook about a family member passing from cancer. I had recently been toying with the idea of fundraising for my upcoming race, but last week’s events really sealed the deal. I am officially a member of The American Cancer Society’s Endurance Team! I have committed to raising $500 for the American Cancer Society.

ACS Endurance Team t-shirt!
ACS Endurance Team t-shirt!

I received my intro packet in the mail today with the above technical t-shirt (that’s the back) and a ton of information about what it means to be on the fundraising team. I am pumped! This has definitely inspired me to work hard training for this race and has gotten me excited about starting my training and being a part of the team. It hasn’t even been a week and I’ve already raised $40 towards my $500.

I will be trying to post weekly updates on my training so my friends and family that donate can follow my progress. If you’d like to donate, click here to go to my fundraising page. There is a minimum donation of $5 – that’s just one fancy Starbucks drink to give up!

Have you ever fundraised for a race?

Leave a Reply

