Mmm, breakfast!

Oddly enough, the fact that I eat breakfast every morning usually comes as a surprise to most. Maybe it’s because I’m young and people don’t expect me to get up early enough to make the time to have something for breakfast. I don’t share the belief with some that a protein shake or bar alone is a good breakfast, plus it leaves me hungry just a few hours later. I’m a morning runner so I’m always hungry after my run, but even on rest days I’m ready to dive in to some delicious morning grub. If I don’t wake up hungry I always make sure to have at least a little something to help me get going in the morning. I thought I’d share some of my favorite breakfast combinations – most of them are 15-minute-or-less meals!

Totally not-home made-brunch. Gosh I LOVE going out to brunch.
Totally not-home made-brunch. Gosh I LOVE going out to brunch.

2 eggs scrambled, half whole wheat English muffin toasted with 1/2 table spoon of peanut butter, banana
I’ve found that a plate of eggs just isn’t enough.

2 eggs scrambled, breakfast potatoes (leftover from the weekend), protein shake (ex. 1 cup chocolate almond milk, 1 scoop protein powder, 1 banana, 1/2 to 1 tablespoon of peanut butter)

Rolled oats with brown sugar, cinnamon, 1 tablespoon of peanut butter and apple or pear
Obviously more of a winter meal for me. My cousin gave me this recipe and I love it. Dab the peanut butter on the side of the bowl and get a little scoop with every bite.

2 eggs sunny side up, 2 pieces of toast, fruit or protein shake
I only drink protein shakes on some workout days, but I buy bananas in bunches so I’ll usually eat them so they don’t go bad!

Egg sandwich (Toasted whole wheat English Muffin, 1 slice of cheese, 1 egg baked in the oven in a ramekin at 375 for 15 minutes) and protein shake.
Wednesday is my speed workout day which is usually higher mileage than the rest of my runs during the week. Despite getting up earlier, I generally get back a little later from these runs. This is my go-to Wednesday breakfast because while the egg is baking I can dry my hair and start putting my makeup on. I got the idea of baking the egg from this great blog post I found on Pinterest about make-ahead breakfast sandwiches!

Omelette (Two eggs, mushrooms, shredded cheese, tomatoes, deli turkey breast, etc.)
I love omelettes because they are not only a easy way to incorporate veggies into breakfast, but there are limitless options of fillings.

Whole wheat English muffin toasted with peanut butter
This is my not-so-hungry breakfast and also my Saturday pre-long run breakfast. On race day I usually have this with a banana or a bagel with peanut butter and a banana.

So there you have it, some breakfast combination ideas. Yes, I love eggs, but if you don’t I highly recommend checking out Pinterest for some breakfast ideas. There is a ton of healthy pancake, muffin, hot cereal, etc., recipes and ideas to be found.

2 thoughts on “Mmm, breakfast!

Leave a Reply

