Training Week Five – Best Week Yet!

62 days until race day! Week five of training was the best yet. I can’t believe I’m almost half way through training for this race. This week I ran a total of 24.18 miles and did 3 of my 5 runs outside which was awesome.

Monday – 3 miles outside. Took this a bit too fast because I didn’t really feel like running and wanted to get it over with.
Tuesday – 3 miles outside. Took this much slower!
Wednesday – 6 miles, tempo run. 1 mile warm up, 4 miles at an 8:14 pace, and 1 mile cool down. I do these on the treadmill because it’s too hard to see my watch and safely run at this quick of a pace in the morning since it’s so dark.
Thursday – Rest Day
Friday – 4 miles on the treadmill. It was about 10 degrees and even colder with windchill on Friday so I opted to head to the gym to escape the cold. Since the first half of the week was outside I didn’t mind too much.
Saturday – 8.18 miles outside.

Pace group photo with Runners World's Mark Remy!
Pace group photo with Runners World’s Mark Remy!

Saturday’s group run was my favorite yet. Not only did my friend Courtney and I get our first opportunity to lead our group for 2 miles, Runners World’s editor at large Mark Remy was in town and came out to run with our training group. Our pace group was lucky enough to have him join us for the second half of our run. It was pretty awesome to get time to ask him questions while running! Oh, and if you’re wondering, we’re flexing in response to the Arnold Sports Festival being in town this weekend.

I felt really good on the majority of my runs this week. Wednesday’s tempo run felt strong and relaxed. Today’s 8 miler was the furthest I’ve run so far in training and the furthest I’ve run in quite a while, but it also felt good. I’m a little sore from the higher mileage this week, but I’m actually attributing that more to the fact that I really need a new pair of shoes so I will have to get on that this week. Unfortunately the weather is calling for a chance of 5-7 inches of snow starting early tomorrow morning through Monday morning. We’re still at a “watch” and not a “warning” so I am desperately hoping that it turns out to be much less so I can continue my training momentum on Monday.

I hope everyone had a great week. Happy running!

Leave a Reply

