Training Week Seven – Half Way There!

This week started out with some beautiful weather with temperatures, for once, unseasonably WARM for us. It was a “fall back” training week for me, but I took full advantage of the nice weather and made it count. I did a total of 18.72 miles this week.

Trying to use my foam roller this week, but Gus apparently had plans to snuggle...
Trying to use my foam roller this week, but Gus apparently had plans to snuggle…

Monday – 5.71 miles around the neighborhood, 8:40 average pace.
Tuesday – 5 mile speed workout on the bike trail, 8:02 average pace. This was a great workout on a gorgeous day. Had a few times that I looked down at my watch and saw I was running at a 7:30 pace, it was very exiting.
Wednesday – Rest Day
Thursday – 4 miles on the the treadmill, average pace 9:12. It was back to below freezing in that morning.
Friday – Rest Day
Saturday – 4.01 miles around the neighborhood, average pace 8:55.

Friday night my husband and I went out to dinner and then saw the National Tour of The Phantom of the Opera. It was fantastic! The cast, sets, costumes, and everything else were amazing. We had a really great time. Since it was a fall back week and Saturday’s run was only 4 miles I decided to go at it alone rather than go early to my training group. This worked out well since I was able to sleep in after our late night out!

The famous chandelier!
The famous chandelier!

I have 5 more weeks until my 2 week taper and they are going to be a tough 5 weeks of training. Tuesday’s speed workout gave me a lot of confidence and made me feel really good about my training so far. Now it’s time to buckle down and continue what I have been doing – sticking to the training plan, getting plenty of sleep, eating healthy, and taking the time to recover.

Happy running!

Leave a Reply

