Book Review – Help for the Haunted by John Searles

help_for_the_haunted_cover

I have to start this out by saying I absolutely loved this novel. When I finished I wished it weren’t over and wanted to read it again. It is one of the best written books I have read in quite a while. Here is the synopsis.

The characters in this novel were so well developed. I really liked that the story was told from the point of view of Sylvie and that though the novel did flash back, she was still young in the present. I felt that even the smaller characters had clear characteristics and purpose.

Something else I really liked about this story was that the subplots were short and sweet and really connected to the main plot. They supported the main plot and helped explain things rather than distract and drag out the overall story. There was enough mystery and suspense to keep things moving and while it wasn’t the most mysterious or suspenseful novel I’ve read, the strong story line really kept me interested in continuing to read to find out more.

Finally, something I’ve mentioned before is a good twist – something that is not too over the top that it ruins the story, but also not something that felt obvious. I did not see this one coming and I was not disappointed by it. It was a true “ah ha!” moment with things I didn’t link together before. While it wouldn’t make sense to have a sequel, I almost wish there were one just to find out what happened next for Sylvie.

I highly recommend this novel. It only took me a few days to read and I think it would satisfy most fiction readers. I will warn you, it is a bit creepy at times. I was home alone reading Saturday night and started to get worried I would have nightmares (which is something that hasn’t happened since I read Gillian Flynn’s Dark Places). Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

