Book Review – These Things Hidden by Heather Gudenkauf

I decided to read These Things Hidden because I had previously read The Weight of Silence by Gudenkauf and really enjoyed it. I had a hard time getting started on These Things Hidden so it took me a while to finish it. Generally if I’m having a hard time getting into a book and it’s reached its due date, I return it and move on. I had a tough time getting into this one, but when the due date arrived I felt I hadn’t really given it much time in the first place so I renewed it and finished it.

These-Things-Hidden-by-Heather-Gudenkauf

I hate to say this because I don’t like to give completely negative reviews, but I just didn’t like this book. I was surprised since the literary reviews all seemed to be very positive and promising. I do recommend still checking it out and forming your own opinion. The general plot is that Allison was a perfect teenager whom her parents adored until she commits a terrible crime that lands her in jail. Her perfect image is tarnished and her sister, Brynn, is left to pick up the pieces.

This is the type of book that has each chapter told by the point of a view of a different character, intertwining their stories. I enjoyed all of the characters and I felt that the story ran smoothly. The crime is revealed early in the book so there is not much suspense and the twist at the end of it is actually pretty boring. Again, I still recommend checking it out since the fact that it made the Best Seller list means that there are people out there that must’ve enjoyed it!

*****If you plan on reading this book, do not read any further because I’m going to reveal a HUGE spoiler in my rant.*****

One thing in this book that I found to be flat out stupid was the fact that Allison was supposed to have been pregnant with twins. Have you ever seen a woman pregnant with multiples? There is NO hiding that. The tall, strong frame that Allison is described to have could surely hide the pregnancy of one baby, especially to parents that are barely present, but TWO? I get that it’s just a story, but that small piece kind of really just threw the story out the window for me.

Leave a Reply

