A Little Update

Last week was a pretty busy week and then the day finally arrived – Kevin’s graduation day! He is officially a DMA (Doctor of Musical Arts. Not to be confused with musical theater… he’s a percussionist). Graduation was on Sunday so I took Friday and Monday off since both of our parent’s came to town.

Me & THE DOCTOR. Great pic if the light from the door wasn't reflecting in his glasses... oops!
Me & THE DOCTOR. Great pic if the light from the door wasn’t reflecting in his glasses… oops!

I had planned a party for Sunday evening with all of our friends from Ohio. I had it partially catered from Fresh Market and cooked the rest of the food (crock pot mac & cheese and pasta salad!) and obviously got a yummy cake made. I also had a special surprise planned – our best friend from college, who also happened to be the best man at our wedding, drove 8 hours from Virginia on Sunday to come celebrate with Kevin. He showed up half way through the party and Kevin was so surprised he got a little choked up. On Saturday I kept yelling at Kevin every time he put something in the guest room, luckily he quickly understood why. It was a pretty difficult secret to keep and one I was very excited about!

Kevin and our best man, Randy!
Kevin and our best man, Randy!

Randy stayed from Sunday until Tuesday and I had originally taken the day off on Monday so I could spend the day hanging out with Kevin & Randy. Unfortunately, I started to feel a bit under the weather last Wednesday. I ended up taking off an extra day from work on Thursday to rest, but having such a busy weekend didn’t leave much time to take it easy. Unfortunately my cold lead to bronchitis so I was on the couch all day Monday by myself instead. Kevin did make me some homemade chicken soup which was great.

That brings me to my training update. Today is 3 weeks since my last run and was supposed to be my first day back to running. It was a beautiful day and would have been a perfect morning for a run. I spent two weeks on the bike and doing other strength training. Since I knew I would be going back to running today, I decided after my workout last Tuesday that I would take the rest of the week off from exercise since there was so much going on with graduation weekend. Obviously with bronchitis I’ll be in no-exercise mode for at least 2 weeks. I was okay taking off from running for injury since I could still do the bike, but not being able to do any true cardio is a bit frustrating. Luckily I will have at least 6 weeks to really build my base up before my actual training really kicks in. I am looking at it as hitting “refresh” and allowing myself to start new with my fitness. More cross and strength training which will hopefully lead to more enjoyable runs. I’ll admit, I was getting a bit burnt out with training before I got hurt. I can at least enjoy some leisurely one mile walks with the dog in the afternoons.

It has been a stressful few months which obviously my body has had a hard time handling! I’m just going to try to embrace the rest of my time off and use it to my advantage to relax.

 

One thought on “A Little Update

Leave a Reply

