Book Review: The Winter People by Jennifer McMahon

I’m going to just start out by saying that Jennifer McMahon is one of my favorite authors so naturally this review is going to be a positive one. This novel came out in February, but the local bookstore took forever to get it. I put myself on the waiting list at the library (I was 80th!) and about two weeks ago, just as it became available at the bookstore, I got the wonderful email that the book was available at the library for me to pick up. I picked it up right away, but with Kevin’s graduation and everything else that has been going on I didn’t get a chance to sit down and read it until this past week.

So excited to have this in my possession!
So excited to have this in my possession!

Now to prove that my review isn’t going to be completely bias, I want to point out that McMahon’s previously released novel, The One I Left Behind, was good, but not my favorite of hers. I’m a fan of her page on Facebook and when she completed this novel she commented that she felt it was her creepiest one yet. She was correct. Here is an overview of the novel.

“Sometimes it just happens.”

It took me a little while to get into this one. The novel switches between entires of Sara Harrison Shea’s diary from the early 1900s and present day. When things start to get creepy, they really start to get creepy. It is quite a page turner and the ending did not disappoint – it was downright haunting, creepy, and thought-provoking. I’m not sure what it is about McMahon, but I can never predict her twists. This may be because I’m so engrossed in the story I’m not trying to figure anything out, I am just eager to see what happens next. If you “like” her on Facebook, she often shares photos of material she is working on. It was very interesting to read this novel and think back to certain photos she posted, like one of a map she’d drawn, and how it all came together.

I really feel that this novel was a whole new level of writing for McMahon. It may actually trump Dismantled as being my favorite of hers. On Facebook she has been posting on the novel she is working on next and I am so excited for that one to come out! I highly recommend all of her novels if you like creepy, mysterious novels that are not run-of-the-mill murder or crime mysteries. Something else that is really interesting is that she gives plenty of insight into her writing of the novel. Here is her backstory for The Winter People.

Okay, stop reading my blog and go get yourself a Jennifer McMahon novel.

Leave a Reply

