Training Update

Guess who’s back, back again? Well, sort of. Last weekend after my first ART session I started running again. Just two miles at a time on my way back up to 10 miles. I was surprised that it was feeling easier than I expected it to be, but my legs are having a hard time readjusting to running after 6 weeks off.

 

20140601-103136-37896892.jpgMy training group is starting up again for its next session this coming Saturday and I generally run with the 9:15 pace group. Today was the first day I was able to run a bit easier and hit that pace. A few times I looked down at my watch I was running a 8:30 mile! I have been trying hard to only use my watch to watch my distance and not my pace, and just let my body determine my pace.

I had my second ART session this past week. In all honesty, I don’t feel it was as helpful as the first. After the first I had no pain my leg. After this one that only lasted for about a day. However, for the longest time I thought there was a knot in my leg where I felt my original twinge by my shin that started this all. My hunch was correct, so the positive part of my last ART session was that she worked on getting that knot out. It was pretty deep in the compartment and under my shin, so tough for her to work on, but it seems she did loosen it up a bit.

My tendinitis has been all over the place, but mostly its at its worst when I wake up in the morning which always leaves me waking up feeling depressed like it’s never going to get better, especially since I often go to bed pain-free like I never had a problem in the first place. I’m debating going to see a different sports med doc that is associated with my training group, but I know tendinitis takes a while to heal, especially in the foot, so there is a part of me that thinks I should just continue what I’m doing and see how I feel in a few weeks instead. The good thing is that it never hurts during my run or immediately following my run. I think it’s at its worst when I haven’t been very mobile and everything starts to tense up.

Being able to run pain-free has been great. I’ve been wearing compression socks or sleeves just to be on the safe side and to keep the blood flowing. Since I only plan to run, not race, the 10 mile race I’m building up to it hasn’t been too frustrating having to take it easy. Keeping in mind my goal is to get back into shape and rehab my leg rather than getting back into race shape is helping me to keep it slow and comfortable. I was going to go to the running store on Friday to have my shoes reevaluated and then look into some SuperFeet (I definitely need some arch support in my running shoes), but this ridiculous pollen count is killer with my allergies and I ended up leaving work early due to a terrible sinus headache!

Luckily, the weather has been nice – warm, but not humid. I’m looking forward to  my training group starting back up next weekend & am just trying to enjoy running again for all its stress-relieving qualities.

2 thoughts on “Training Update

  1. I can totally relate on the going to bed feeling good and waking up with stiffness and pain. It certainly does make it feel like the healing will never fully happen! But that’s definitely encouraging that it’s not hurting you while you’re running! Sometimes the ART feels like it helps the very next day for me and sometimes it doesn’t feel any different for a few days even, I guess it can very depending on how or what they worked on. I know that for long term fixes I swear by it though. My chronic hip flexor tightness of more than a year was worked out with 10 days off and three ART sessions. With regular stretches recommended by the ART Dr. it hasn’t come back yet, either!

Leave a Reply

