Another Great Big Update

It has been a while since I’ve posted. I decided to take a little time away from blogging in July. I was still keeping up reading other’s blogs, but with a lot going on & no formal race training going on I thought it was a good time to take a hiatus. Here’s a quick recap of the going-ons in July!

I left my job & took a week off to visit family in Virginia with my husband.
We visited with his brother & wife and our 18 month old niece. She called our dog “Woof woof” the whole day! We also stayed with his parents for a night and with my parents for another night. I had taken the week off from running to allow my tendon to heal, but I love to run when I am in VA. I got up early on a Saturday and ran the 1 mile from my parents house down to the trail and did an out and back. It was 70 degrees with 100% humidity. Killer!

WO&D Trail in Northern Virginia
WO&D Trail in Northern Virginia

We got a new-to-us car!
It’s a newer Nissan Altima and its pretty much the nicest car either of us have ever had. Needless to say, we are pretty excited about it and love driving it around.

My hubby with our new car!
My hubby with our new car!

I started my new job.
I am now an account executive at a branding agency downtown. When I graduated college, this was my first career goal. I’m only two weeks in, but so far I am enjoying it. Working downtown is great. I am only a 10 minute walk to the park where the spring half marathon holds its finish party.

Downtown Columbus on my lunch break.
Downtown Columbus on my lunch break.

We celebrated our 2 year wedding anniversary.
Last weekend we went out for dinner and then headed downtown for drinks. We wanted to see Wish I Was Here, but unfortunately we were not a “select city” – we’ll be going to see it tomorrow instead. I can’t believe it’s already been two years since our wedding day, but we had a great weekend together.

Anniversary drinks downtown.
Anniversary drinks downtown.

Now for race training…
I got tired of the pain in my foot and decided to take an entire week off from exercise completely while we were in Virginia. This seemed to help a lot and my foot wasn’t nearly as bad after my Virginia run. I decided to take a second week off. Unfortunately this meant I missed the chance to meet Meb Keflezighi at one of my training group runs, but ultimately I knew that taking the time off was the right choice. After a second week off I did a 6 mile run and felt pretty good, but was still unsure about my shoes. I read a review that said the heel drop had been reduced and caused that reviewer calf pain so I was suspicious that this may have led to my problems as well. I dug around and found an older pair of Asics at home. They’re worn, but not a ridiculous amount since I likely wore them back when I only ran for exercise and only averaged around 10 miles a week total. Then this past week I got an infection and had to take 3 more days off, ugh! I usually build an extra week into my training plan in case I get sick, but I never expected to use it the first week! This morning I went out for a 7 mile run with my training group and wore my older shoes. This seems to have made a big difference, but I guess only time will tell. The humidity combined with my antibiotics led me to quit a little short of 6 miles, but with there being 12 weeks until race day I wasn’t at all upset about it. Official training begins on Monday! Here is an amusing picture from the start of this morning’s run.

Runners, start your watches! (I'm the one in blue.)
Runners, start your watches! (I’m the one in blue.)

I am signed up for 3 races that I plan to run, but not race. Two of them match up pretty well for my mileage that weekend, so I figured I might as well get a medal for completing my long run. First up is a quarter marathon in August. Then I am doing a distance team relay in September which will bring me to a total mileage of 9.8 miles (more likely 10) over two legs of running. Last up is The Ohio State 4 miler. I may use this as speed work or I may just keep it casual and enjoy finishing in the shoe! There is a 10 miler next weekend that I have always wanted to do, but I haven’t decided yet if I want to run it – I may be one of those last-minute registrations.

That’s a recap of my month & what’s to come over the next few weeks. I will be back to posting more regularly now that I will be back on an official training schedule.

Leave a Reply

