First Cold Weather Week of the Season

It’s a gorgeous 61 degrees here right now, a far cry from the high of 12 degrees this past Tuesday. The polar vortex graced us with its presence this week and it really threw me for a loop.

Monday morning my alarm went off bright and early so I could get to the gym a little after 5 for my morning workout. The news had been calling for 2-6 inches of snow overnight, but very often that snow ends up north or south of us. Unfortunately, we weren’t so lucky this week. I opened the garage to a snow-covered car and spent the next 10ish minutes warming it up and cleaning it off. Then off I went to get to the gym – or so I thought. Unfortunately it was too early for any plows to come through yet and the road was just too slick. I ended up turning off the main road and circling back to our place. The logical thing to do would have been to just do a bit of cardio downstairs in the living room, but the comfortable thing to do was get back into bed and watch TV until it was time to get ready for work. So that’s what I did!

Monday morning snow!
Monday morning snow!

Tuesday I was back on track and headed to the gym for 30 minutes of lifting and 30 minutes of cardio with no problems. I discovered another new machine at the gym that I found fun to cross train on and it is an extremely similar motion to running. As usual, Wednesday was my rest day for the week. On Thursday I got up bright and early and headed to the gym. My husband was out of town, so when I got home my dog was waiting for me at the back window which was such a sweet way to be greeted after an early morning workout.

Friday morning my alarm went off for the gym, but I just felt exhausted. My husband had been out of town since Wednesday morning and work had been busy. On top of that, when my husband left he had a bad cold and I was terrified I would end up sick for Thanksgiving, so I opted to sleep in. I didn’t feel one bit guilty about it, either!

Saturday morning I had planned to get the gym for an hour of cardio. I didn’t set an alarm since I naturally wake up early, but despite going to bed around 9:30, I didn’t wake up until 9am! This was later than I had wanted since I’m usually at they gym by 9:30 on the weekends. I laid in bed and started checking Facebook, only to find that the roads had been dangerously icy that morning due to some overnight freezing rain and I likely would’ve have made it to the gym that morning anyway.

It was kind of a bust this week as far as working out goes, but knowing that I am about to kick it back into full gear after Thanksgiving kept me from feeling too guilty about it. With today’s beautiful weather I decided to skip the gym and try for a short run of 1.5-2 miles, depending on how I felt. I actually felt great! I was able to get in 2 miles at a normal pace without any struggle at all. I guess my cross training held up pretty well over the past few weeks. Now the real test will be to see how my foot feels in the coming days, but I’m heading to the chiropractor tomorrow morning so I’m sure that will help!

Wine night

Since my husband was out of town this week/weekend, I decided to throw a Ladies Wine Night last night. I would say it was pretty successful. Around 8 people showed up for wine, snacks, and good conversation. The 90s Hits iTunes radio station was also a success. The majority of the guests left around 11:30, except for my BRF, Courtney, and her friend who I ended up kicking out at 2am. A girl’s gotta sleep!

I am looking forward to Thanksgiving this week and spending some time with my in-laws. I’m also hoping to catch up on reading everyone’s posts that I follow. For some reason, my WordPress app keeps crashing and I’m not able to read anything new or post from the app. Is anyone else having that problem? I’m eagerly waiting for an update to fix the bugs.

I have been thinking about my 2015 running goals as well as some other fun post update ideas so I can begin to update more regularly once the holidays are over. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

