So Long, 2014!

I took a little blogging hiatus over the holiday’s so I could focus on everything that comes with December: Christmas shopping, holiday events, Christmas travel, etc. We had a nice Christmas with a huge trip to Virginia to visit our families. The trip lasted a week and took us to three different cities.

First we went to Richmond, VA, to visit my sister & her husband. Kevin & I hadn’t been back to Richmond together since we left after graduating years ago. We also hadn’t been back together to visit Amy & Brad. We had a great time spending the weekend with them. We went out to eat, listened to live music, drank local beer, and ventured on part of Richmond’s famous Tacky Light Tour.

Me & Kevin on the tacky light tour!
Me & Kevin on the tacky light tour!
Me & my sister on the Tacky Light Tour!
Me & my sister on the Tacky Light Tour!

Next we headed up to the D.C. area to visit my husband’s parents. We took a drive downtown one night to see the tree and had a great time even though it was super foggy.

With the in-laws at the DC tree.
With the in-laws at the DC tree.
National Tree
National Tree

After Christmas Eve dinner with the in-laws, we finally headed 40 minutes over to my parent’s house to celebrate Christmas. We went to Midnight Mass, then slept in a little on Christmas morning before opening presents and eating, drinking, and playing games all day. We all zonked out early – I guess we’re getting old! My wonderful husband bought the number one item on my wish list, the Garmin Forerunner 15 with HR monitor. I’ve already taken it out for a test run.

Fancy gift from my husband!
Fancy gift from my husband!

I got a lot of great running gifts that I had on my wish list including a new reflector vest, another UA Storm sweatshirt, and a larger foam roller.

Unfortunately we both returned to Ohio with colds and mine turned into a sinus infection. Boooo, but I’ve been on antibiotics for 24 hours now and am feeling a lot better and ready to ring in the New Year.

I didn’t do a 2014 reflection post because this was a less-than-stellar year in my opinion. I would say my favorite running experience of 2014 was the Market to Market Relay. I had a blast spending the day in a van with my teammates and checking out some new running areas in Ohio during the race.

Long Distance Relaytionships!
Long Distance Relaytionships!

Overall, I am happy to see 2014 go and am looking forward to 2015. I am planning to use my spring half marathon training to get back into shape and get into better habits so I can carry my fitness over into the summer to train for my first full. Fingers crossed I can stay injury-free in 2015 so I can hit my fall goal.

I hope everyone has a safe and happy New Year! Remember, don’t drink & drive… and if you don’t want to be charged a ridiculous amount for transportation tonight, skip Uber and call a cab!

Here’s to 2015!

2 thoughts on “So Long, 2014!

  1. I love the Garmin Forerunner 15!!! I have it in pink!! The watch rocks!! I love the color you have!! So pretty!! Sounds like a busy Christmas and yaaay to Richmond!! I live about 45 minutes away and visit every now and then! Happy New Year’s Eve!! Have a fabulous start to your 2015!! XOXO

Leave a Reply

