First Week Back, First Week of the New Year

Happy New Year! This was my first official week back to running. I logged a total of 6.5 miles. If you’ve been following my blog, you probably already know that I had about 8 weeks off after my half marathon. Between injury, illness, and travel, it wasn’t an ideal time for running. The time off was much needed and even though I have a long way to go to be back in shape, I am happy for the break and the opportunity to focus on other things during the holidays. I am excited about the new year and 2015 is already off to a great start. My husband & I kicked off the new year with a late lunch/early dinner at a nice restaurant downtown and then headed home for a night of movies by the fire place until it was time to countdown to the new year!

My fancy NYE dinner. It was delicious.
My fancy NYE dinner. It was delicious.

My Week:
Tuesday – 1.5 miles, 9:08/mi pace
Thursday – 2 miles, 9:13/mi pace
Saturday – 3 miles treadmill, 9:15/mi pace

Saturday was the official kick off for the winter/spring season of my training group. Unfortunately, when I woke up it was torrential rain and about 33 degrees out. The roads didn’t seem icy, but running in that weather didn’t seem like the healthiest idea while still taking antibiotics for a sinus infection and getting over a cold. I decided to sleep in a little and head to the gym. It was surprisingly empty in there, but the weather was pretty atrocious so I couldn’t blame anyone for just staying in. Once I got home, I stayed in the rest of the day until it was time to go out to dinner!

Last year I started off the year with a training log, but once I got injured and took time off I didn’t pick it back up when I started training again. I didn’t want to over-analyze what I was doing since my goal was to get through the fall season and finish my 3rd half marathon. This year I’m starting off with a training log, a simple planner I got in the Target Dollar Spot, and hopefully won’t have any large set-backs to get me off track.

My 2015 Training Log!
My 2015 Training Log!

This is the same type of planner I always loved for personal planning reasons. It has a monthly calendar at the beginning of each month and then a spread for each week where more detailed info can be written. I’ve written my training plan on the monthly calendar and put my detailed entries on each day within the week.

For the month of January I am simply working on getting back into the routine of working out around a set schedule & plan. My total weekly mileage will remain low to allow time for my body to get adapted to running again. I have two goals for January: 1) Don’t miss a cross training session and 2) Don’t skip any runs, unless I feel I need to give my body an extra rest day – it can’t be because I’m feeling lazy! I am also hoping to get in an extra post or two during the week on various topics.

Tomorrow is back to the regular grind and the week is looking very cold with Wednesday being the coldest at a high of 10 and a low of -6. Brrr! I will probably be on the treadmill a bit this week since my weekday runs are only 2 miles.

Everyone have a great week!

Leave a Reply

