Week 3: Base Building

Week three of base building was a successful one. I was finally able to get outside and I finished the week with 13 miles total. My first week of my half marathon training will be a total of 15.5 miles during the second weekend of February, so I am well on my way. Here’s what my week looked like:

Sunday – Private yoga with my running pace group
Monday – 2 mile treadmill run, 9:27/mi pace
Tuesday – 30 minute cross training on the stationary bike
Wednesday – 3 miles outside, 9:42/mi pace
Thursday – 2 miles outside, 9:07/mi pace
Friday – Rest Day
Saturday – 6.2 miles outside, 9:13/mi pace

Wednesday was a cold morning. The night before the forecast said it would be 8F, but when I got up it was only 3F. I was so tired of being in the gym that I went for it anyway. I felt weighed down with my layers and slowed by the unsuspected cold. Luckily, there was no wind chill which helped a lot.

What I look like for a morning run in 3F weather.
What I look like for a morning run in 3F weather.

My Saturday run was only supposed to be 5 miles, but for some reason we did 6 (not sure why, our pace coaches really aren’t supposed to do that). I wasn’t happy about it at all. I don’t want to push my mileage or my training and even though a whole mile doesn’t seem like it should make a difference, I hadn’t run 6 miles or even 5 miles since October, so it didn’t seem like the best idea to jump it. My hip flexors are a bit tight today, but I am thankful this upcoming week is a fall-back week and next Saturday’s run will only be 3 miles. We also go ahead of ourselves on Saturday and ran our 3rd mile at an average pace of 8:50. My BRF and I were definitely feeling it in that mile. Our pace coach in the back was yelling up to the front to slow down. I guess the people up front were just excited for us to be running together in slightly warmer weather (27F).

I took the dog for a 1 mile walk this morning, but plan to take it easy the rest of the day and really savor my Sunday rest day this week. Lazy Sunday’s are the best!

One thought on “Week 3: Base Building

Leave a Reply

