Capital City Half Marathon Training – Week One

This week I officially kicked off my training for the Capital City Half Marathon. Not much has changed from my weekly routine, but now I will begin upping my mileage and making my Saturday long runs longer.

Last Sunday my husband & I celebrated the Super Bowl by having an appetizer-style dinner. We only watched through half time, but then it was time for me to head to bed so I could get up for my run on Monday morning.

Home made chicken wings, nachos, edamame,  a veggie platter, and sparkling water. My coworker commented that this was the "healthiest Super Bowl spread" she'd ever seen.
Home made chicken wings, nachos, edamame, a veggie platter, and sparkling water. My coworker commented that this was the “healthiest Super Bowl spread” she’d ever seen.

This week was an extremely busy and stressful one. We have a lot of (fun) projects and presentations piling up with no ability to change deadlines. I arrived to the office Monday morning and found this on my desk:

Our company steps it up when we have a lot of work to get done!
Our company steps it up when we have a lot of work to get done!

The busy work week coupled with my husband being out of town for 24 hours mid-week made it really difficult to properly recover and I was really feeling it on Saturday during my long run. While my legs felt fine, my heart rate was high. My friend Nicole had a tough week as well, so she hung with me in the back of the group so we could slow down if needed. It was also still snowy and icy on some parts of the trail, so overall our group had to slow down a few times. Here’s what my week looked like:

Sunday – Rest day
Monday – 3.5 miles outside, 9:12/mi pace
Tuesday – 30 minutes XT on the stationary bike
Wednesday – 3 miles outside, 9:04/mi pace (Ran this as a Fartlek)
Thursday – 2 miles treadmill recovery run, 10:00/mi pace
Friday – Rest day
Saturday – 6 miles outside, 9:19/mi pace
Total Miles – 14.5

Despite the added stress, it was still a successful first week of training. I have been keeping up with stretching and foam rolling after every run and foam rolling on rest days. I also have been continuing to enjoy my Tuesday morning cross training as a way to give my body a break from running while still getting some cardio done. It should be another busy week at work, but hopefully I can get more sleep and time to relax throughout the week.

Leave a Reply

