Capital City Half Marathon Training – Week Two

Week two has come and gone and I am one week closer to race day. I feel like the next few weeks are just going to fly by and if that means warmer weather faster, I will take it! It has been 7 degrees here all day. Luckily, the sun has been out which is not very common for winter in Columbus!

Here's a cute picture of my sleeping dog to kick things off.
Here’s a cute & cozy picture of my sleeping dog to kick things off.

Overall, I had an okay week. I decided to switch my second run and cross training this week to see how that faired. I am going to try it again this week because overall I think it’s motivationally a little easier for me to get two runs in at the beginning of the week. Thursday morning I woke up to a light blanket of snow and ice. Since I wasn’t expecting that much, I didn’t have time to get to the gym, so on with the Yaktrax and out into the snow I went for a very cold and slow two miles.

Sunday – Rest
Monday – 3.5 miles outdoors, 9:30/mi
Tuesday – 3 miles outdoors, 9:24/mi
Wednesday – Strength & 30 min XT on the bike
Thursday – 2 miles outdoors, 10:15/mi
Friday – Rest
Saturday – 7 miles group run, 9:06/mi
Total Miles – 15.5

My one complaint besides the cold is that my pace group was really pushing pace this weekend. This would be okay, but running my first mile at a 9:00 pace is tough on me for the cold temps we’re having – we were even pushing into the 8:45-50s during a few miles yesterday. The closest we came to a 9:15 average pace was 9:11 on our 6th mile when we were bombarded with Nerf darts and gift cards from the local running store (a Valentine’s Day surprise!). Really, it’s not doing me any good to be running faster than I should be and I am considering dropping down to the 9:30 pace group when I’m back running with them in two weeks. It has been cold here, I’m talking below-freezing-mostly-teens cold and that is pretty tough on my body. Similar to very warm or humid temps, my body has a hard time recovering from very cold runs. I’d much rather run slower than be forced to run faster.

Other than that, we are in for a very cold week. It will mostly be in the single digits during my morning runs and we still have a think sheet of snow frozen on the side roads from yesterday so I think I will probably be on the treadmill most of the week. I am hoping to run a local 10K race this upcoming Sunday, but there is more snow in the forecast so once I get a better idea of the weather I will make a decision.

Saturday night for Valentine’s Day my husband continued the tradition of cooking me dinner. His birthday was last week and mine is this upcoming weekend, so we don’t generally do much for Valentine’s Day. He also bought some stuff to make me homemade chocolate covered strawberries.

No need to go out in the cold for great food when you marry a man that can cook.
No need to go out in the cold for great food when you marry a man that can cook.

I was supposed to go out for a Galentine’s Day brunch this morning. A woman I used to work with was in town from Boston so the four of us were going to get together. Unfortunately she texted me last night to let me know she was being admitted to the hospital overnight for pneumonia! Then this morning another of the women said she thought she had strep and needed to get to Urgent Care. Long story short, we ended up canceling. My husband and I decided to go to brunch together instead and I enjoyed spiked cider and a crab cake skillet dish.

Mmmm, brunch!
Mmmm, brunch!

Half way through February with no sign of warm weather in sight, but I guess I will just keep trucking along and waiting on spring.

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

