Capital City Half Marathon Training – Week Three

Three weeks down, 9 to go! This week was mentally a tough one. We had a small spell of snow last Saturday which wasn’t really cleared from the roads followed by the deep freeze that annoyed pretty much the entire country. I knew going to bed Sunday night that I was going to be in the gym all week and I just wasn’t feeling it. Running on the treadmill is crappy, but what’s worse is how early I have to get up to get to the gym and get my run in. I don’t live far from the gym, only about 5 minutes, but I generally have to scrape the ice off the car and warm it up which is a bit time consuming. In all, having to go to the gym probably adds 20 minutes onto my routine.

This is pretty much how my week went.
This is pretty much how my week went.

I woke up Monday morning, took my resting heart rate, and then checked the forecast. It was 0 outside (no clue what the windchill was like) and all I could think was, “Screw this.” I reset my alarm and went back to sleep. I was still a bit grumpy from my too-fast long run on Saturday and figured that, if anything, I could go to the gym that night or skip my cross training on Tuesday. I didn’t get out of work until 6 on Monday, so skipping cross training on Tuesday was my better option. Wednesday morning was more of the same, not feeling like getting up and going out in the cold weather. Even though it was going to be colder Thursday morning, I decided to sleep in figuring I could combine my Wednesday/Thursday mileage or go to the gym again Friday morning. When Thursday morning rolled around, I decided that since it was a fall-back week, I would combine my mileage and do a nice speed work. I was glad I decided to do that because when I woke up Friday morning it was -6 out! By Friday afternoon, we were under a winter storm warning for 5-8 inches of snow starting in the early hours of Saturday morning. Luckily I only had 4 miles to get done for the weekend because of the fall-back week, so I headed to the gym Friday night and got it done so I could enjoy the snow day.

Sunday – Rest Day
Monday – Rest Day
Tuesday – 3 miles treadmill, 9:27 pace
Wednesday – Rest Day
Thursday – 5 miles treadmill, 10:30 warm up, 8:27 race pace, 10:30 recovery, 8:27 race pace, 10:30 cool down
Friday – 4 miles treadmill, 9:27 pace
Saturday – Snow day!
Total Miles – 12

I did some shoveling on Saturday and took the dog for a walk through the snow (the poor guy hadn’t been for a walk all week due to the cold), but other than that I spent the day relaxing and catching up on House of Cards with my husband. He has been pretty sick with a nasty sinus infection, so it was kind of nice to just be stuck inside.

Saturday morning
Saturday morning

Today is my birthday. Since my husband is sick, I spent most of the day relaxing and it was actually really nice. For the past 5 years my sister has visited for a long weekend around my birthday, but we decided this year that she should come during a different time of year. Between the snow and my husband being sick, I think it really worked out for the better. I took my birthday off of my Facebook profile so I wouldn’t be bombarded with birthday posts from people that never talk to me (I find that obnoxious instead of flattering) and was happily surprised that the posts I did get were mostly from members of my running group. Also, one of my close friends from back in high school is finishing up her PhD in psychology, so we don’t get to talk as much as we would like. She decided to surprise me with a phone call today and we ended up chatting for 2 hours! It was definitely the highlight of my day. We get a floating holiday at work, so I decided to use it tomorrow and plan to do a little shopping.

We’re in for another cold week and the neighborhood I run in wasn’t cleared well enough for me to run through anyway. I was hoping to hit the trail tomorrow morning, but it seems it won’t warm up to above 0 until late in the day. I’m hoping that being able to at least sleep in until it’s light out will help with the fact that I have to get up super early the rest of the week for my workouts at the gym! At the end of the week I’ll be 1/3 of the way through training and one week closer to spring.

 

One thought on “Capital City Half Marathon Training – Week Three

Leave a Reply

