Capital City Half Marathon Training – Week Seven

Week seven has come and gone and it was my best week of training in this cycle to date. Not only was I finally feeling better, we had some beautifully warm afternoons. Monday morning my alarm went off and I checked the weather  – the current temperature had been 22 degrees, but the high for the day was 60. This is the one time of year I will cram my workouts in after work just for the opportunity to run in some warmer temperatures. I completed all of my workouts this week including my cross training, speed work, and long run. Here’s what my week looked like:

Sunday – Rest Day
Monday – 4.52 miles, 9:06 pace
Tuesday – 30 minutes XT on the bike and some hip strengthening exercises
Wednesday – Speed work 4.20 miles,  8:29 pace
Thursday – 3.00 miles recovery run, 10:00 pace
Friday – Rest Day
Saturday – 10.00 mile group run, 9:11 pace
Total Miles – 21.72

I was really happy with my speed work on Wednesday. It’s the first outdoor speed work I’ve been able to do and the route I took had some inclines. My first sprint had a downhill element to it followed by an uphill. My second sprint had a slight uphill before leveling out and getting very flat (hence the much faster sprint). My cool down mile felt nice and easy and my RHR was fairly normal the next morning.

Wednesday's speed work session stats.
Wednesday’s speed work session stats.

Saturday’s long run also felt great. I’m sure part of this week’s awesomeness had to do with the weather. Not having those extra layers really makes me feel light and it’s so nice to be out in beautiful weather. I even sang a little song about it around mile 7 of Saturday’s run. I had 9 miles on schedule, but the marathon group had a fall back week to 10 so most of us training for the half just stuck out the whole 10 as a group. To be fair, we did have some marathoners that had their peak week and got 12 in before the scheduled 10, but they were all in good spirits (read: remained patient during my singing at mile 7) throughout the 10 miler and finished their 22 miler strong.

I’m bringing second breakfast back. In case you don’t know what that means, I generally only eat a little something before a run if I’m going to be running for an hour or more. My pre-run breakfast of choice is a whole wheat English Muffin with peanut butter. After my run I have what I call “second breakfast.” After Saturday’s second breakfast, I took a shower, a short nap, and then headed to the store to stock up on fueling needs for the final 6 weeks of training. It’s hard to believe I only have 5 more Saturday runs until race day – one of those is a fall back week, so I have 3 long runs left! But I digress. I’ve fallen in love with Honey Stinger gels. Since they’re made with honey they’re 1) Delicious and 2) Much lighter/thinner than Gu gels. I’m a fan of Gu, but I’ve been having an easier time with the Honey Stingers since they’re a little lighter and easier to devour while on the move.

Ready for my last 6 weeks of training!
Ready for my last 6 weeks of training!

This week is looking to be a bit chilly in the mornings again and we have a chance of thunderstorms on Wednesday. I may be heading inside to get my speed work done on the treadmill this week, but I’m holding out hope that warmer temperatures are on their way.  Once the race is over I will have about 6 weeks before my next training cycle will start and I plan to take full advantage of it by running the mileage I feel like while enjoying the beautiful weather before the summer heat breaks out.

I hope everyone had a great week of training. Congrats to those that raced this weekend!

12 thoughts on “Capital City Half Marathon Training – Week Seven

  1. I haven’t tried the honey stingers yet, but have heard good things. I’ll have to pick one up to try, I’m going to start experimenting with different fuels. Glad you’re feeling strong and the weather is warming up for you!! It’s a great time of year to be a runner!

  2. There’s a lot of people that don’t use gels for half marathons, but I sweat out a ton of salt so they are helpful for me. I generally don’t use them in training until I hit 8 miles and it’s mostly just to get my stomach used to them. I generally do two shot blocks pre-run and then do a gel around mile 5 or 6. On race day I usually do two shot blocks before the race, a gel with caffeine at mile 6, and one without caffeine again between 9 and 10. It’s really a personal preference, sometimes I don’t use my second one.

      1. Do you like one better than the other? Which ine do you use for your cross training? I’m out to replace mine this afternoon.

  3. Hmm, I guess I don’t really think about it much when I’m running errands. I run on a paved trail though so mine don’t get super dirty looking or anything. The benefit of these bright darker colors now is that I think they look nicer longer. Remember back when running shoes all came in white with an accent color? Yuck.

Leave a Reply

