Capital City Half Marathon Training – Week Eight

8 weeks down, 4 weeks to go! I had another pretty good week. More of the same this week, but I got my runs done all in the morning. When I woke up Wednesday morning I was feeling really tired, but my rHR was normal. My hip was also feeling a bit tight. I decided to go out and do my speed work and just take an extra rest day on Thursday. It was raining during my speed work so I really felt like I earned that extra day off! I felt well rested for this morning’s long run. Here’s what my week looked like:

Monday – 5 miles, 9:38 pace
Tuesday – 30 minutes XT on the bike
Wednesday – Speed work 5 miles, 8:34 pace
Thursday – Extra Rest Day
Friday – Rest Day
Saturday – 10 miles, 9:10 pace
Total Miles – 20

Warm up 9:51, Sprint 1 8:04, Sprint 2 7:56, Sprint 3 7:36, Cool down 9:20
Warm up 9:51, Sprint 1 8:04, Sprint 2 7:56, Sprint 3 7:36, Cool down 9:20

This morning it was COLD again, 19 degrees with a windchill of 8. Ugh. None of us were very happy about it, but once we got warmed up it wasn’t as bad. I even took my gloves off for a while before the turn around. The sun was shining and it started to warm up after a while. The wind was kind of chilly on the way back, but there is definitely a difference between 19 degrees in late march and 19 degrees in mid-February. I’m hopeful this was our last very cold run of the season, but who knows!

When I got home I spent some extra time stretching. My hip felt fine during the run and I could really feel that my lower abs were engaged throughout the run, but I need to keep my hip loose while I’m not running to maintain mobility in it for my runs. I will reassess how it feels going into the week and replace my speed work with an easy run on Wednesday if I feel like I need to. It may be that time to head back to the chiro to have my hips readjusted (#femalerunnerprobs, right?). It’s a fall back week, so next Saturday’s run will only be 5-6 miles which will be a nice break.

Also, SECOND BREAKFAST. My favorite part of Saturday (besides finishing my run, of course).

Eggs with onion, tomato, baby bellas, and cheese. Siggi's Vanilla yogurt and lemon-lime Skratch Labs.
Eggs with onion, tomato, baby bellas, and cheese. Siggi’s Vanilla yogurt and lemon-lime Skratch Labs.

I hope everyone had a great week of training and/or a great day of racing. Here’s hoping that the weather will warm up for good soon!

7 thoughts on “Capital City Half Marathon Training – Week Eight

  1. I stopped wearing them when they made them super narrow and switched to a different brand. I loved the new shoes I had, but then they changed the heel drop on the newer version of that brand so I switched back to Asics to the GTs. The Kayano’s were one of a few I tried on at the running store when I went in looking for a 2nd pair that was more cushioned and I just happened to like them most out of the different brands I tried on.

  2. What other brand were you using? I have had lots of the GTs over the years. (Probably still do barried in a closet). I’m sure lots as well?

    1. I thought maybe mine was a mix of overtraining and the shoes, and surely some of it may have been due to overtraining, but a few months ago I took them out for 2 miles just to see and I definitely had some tenderness after the run and a few days later. No clue where they are now! May have put them in the garage for yard work season.

Leave a Reply

