What’s Cookin’: Sweet Potato Hash

Sweet potato hash is one of my favorite meals to make. It’s easy, quick, and great for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Sometimes I make it for my Saturday post-long run brunch (second breakfast!) and I’ve even made it for a quick weeknight dinner.

It’s pretty simple and can be customized for what you like or have in your fridge/freezer. To start, peel and cube some sweet potatoes. I use two, one for each of us – this seems to work just fine. I also chop up some onion.

Cubed sweet potato and onion
Cubed sweet potato and chopped onion

Next, throw them in a frying pan with oil or butter (or both) with the heat on medium. I usually let them cook through a little bit before adding my other ingredients. Cook for a few minutes… this is a really fool-proof dish… then throw in whatever other veggies you’d like. This particular day I threw in chopped brussel sprouts and corn. Then season it however you’d like. I usually use salt, pepper, and sage.

Here it is, piled up.
Here it is, piled up.

Then sauté it for a bit until things begin to soften up.

Mixed up, cooking through.
Mixed up, cooking through.

Now is my favorite part – the egg! I put a lid on the sweet potato hash pan and turn the heat down to low so everything can heat through. Then I throw some eggs in another pan and fry them up and flip them so they’re over-easy.

This is your brain on drugs.
This is your brain on drugs.

Once your eggs are ready, turn off the heat on both pans. Spoon some sweet potato hash on a plate or in a bowl and slide your eggs on top.

TA-DAAH!
TA-DAAH!

There you have it. The leftovers are great to heat up later and eat as a side to any meal. There are a lot of different variations of this dish which is one of the things that makes it so great. I also love that I can wash the cutting board and knife while the veggies are cooking so all of my prep items are cleaned up before I even eat. Just two pans means quick clean up after the meal as well. I recommend doing a Google or Pinterest search to find all of the endless possibilities of sweet potato hash. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

