Race Day Playlist

Race day is just 6 days away so this weekend I spent some time drinking wine & freshening up my playlist. I pulled out some of my CDs (yeah, my car is from 2004 so I still use CDs) to load some music onto our new Mac and ended up discovering some of my old favorites. By old favorites I mean that there is now a handful of songs on my race playlist that are songs I used to listen to in high school to get pumped up for lacrosse games.

I thought I’d share my playlist since it seems runners are always looking for ideas for their playlists. The list is in alphabetical order below, but I run with an iPod shuffle so it plays at random.

IMG_1346

Billion – Mat Kearney
Born to Run – Bruce Springsteen
Burn Out Bright – Switchfoot (my mantra song)
Cecilia and the Satellite – Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness
Chasing the Sun – Sara Bareilles
Constructive Summer – The Hold Steady
Counting Stars – OneRepublic
Dark Blue – Jack’s Mannequin (technically Andrew McMahon…)
Dial Tones – As It Is
Dog Days Are Over – Florence + The Machine
Friction – Imagine Dragons
Futures – Jimmy Eat World (High school throwback)
Geronimo – Sheppard
Ghost – Ella Henderson
Heartbeat – Mat Kearney
High of 75 – Relient K (High school throwback)
Holding On To You – twenty one pilots
Honesty, I’m Good. – Andy Grammar
I Lived – OneRepublic
Kaleidoscope – The Script
Let it Out – Switchfoot
Life in Color – OneRepublic
Lost Without Each Other – Hanson (High school throw back. No judging, this is a great jam.)
Love Runs Out – OneRepublic
Narcolepsy – Third Eye Blind
One Black Sheep – Mat Kearney
Out of the Woods – Taylor Swift
A Praise Chorus – Jimmy Eat World (High school throwback)
Run – Delta Rae
A Sky Full of Stars – Coldplay
Sweetness – Jimmy Eat World (High school throwback)
Take My Love – The Lone Bellow
That’s What I Like – Flo Rida
‘Till I Collapse – Eminem
Trouble – Imagine Dragons
Unbelievers – Vampire Weekend
The War Inside – Switchfoot
Work This Body – WALK THE MOON
Worship You – Vampire Weekend

There you have it, all 39 songs. My playlist is over 2 hours long since I tend to get picky during my races and skip over songs if I’m not feeling them in the moment. I have a mix of pop, rock, hip hop, and rap. Sometimes when I get tired I like something a bit more relaxing than something pounding in my ears so some of my songs are slower. I also use this playlist when I run in the morning so it’s nice to have some lighter tunes mixed in for the early morning hours. I like to run to songs with a good beat, songs that make me want to dance, and songs that remind me to be in the moment. OneRepublic is one of my favorite bands to have on my playlist. I’m not a huge fan of hip hop or rap, so Flo Rida and Eminem are my exceptions. The two newest additions that really pump me up are Work This Body by WALK THE MOON and Run by Delta Ray.

These are the songs that are going to take me through 13.1 miles next weekend and many morning marathon training miles. What are you favorite running songs?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Race Day Playlist

Leave a Reply

