Columbus Marathon Training Weeks 3 & 4

Weeks 3 & 4 of training went much better than weeks 1 & 2. Though my cold lingered around during week 3, I was still able to get in all of my workouts including some hill repeats. It was a cut back week, so my Saturday run was only 6 miles. Courtney and I headed out on July 4th morning to run the last 6 miles of the marathon course. It was a beautiful morning and the last 6 miles are really nice… when that’s all we’re running! The weather here has been rain with a chance of more rain, so to have a sunny Saturday for a run is always a plus. The evening of July 4th I attended my husband’s outdoor symphony performance and still got in some cross training that Sunday. I wrapped up the cut back of week 3 with 17 miles and finally kicked my cold.

Sharing a post-run watermelon snack with Gus.
Sharing a post-run watermelon snack with Gus.

Week 4 was a strong one. I am really seeing improvements on my paces while running in zone 2 which I am sure is due to finally adapting to the humidity and hopefully some improved fitness. I started the week with 3 miles in zone 2 and was really happy with my splits.

A happy Monday Run.
A happy Monday Run.

During my tempo run on Wednesday, I decided not to use my music in the beginning because I was running a new route and wanted to make sure I took the correct turns. I ended up really enjoying the quiet and did the entire run without music. I felt really happy and refreshed. I ended up not listening to music on my runs Thursday or Friday. I think this may become a habit now as I’ve realized in the past that I don’t really listen to my music anyway.

On Saturday morning I had 11 miles on the schedule and my running group was doing 7. I got there early and hit the trail for 4 solo miles (without music again) and really enjoyed the quiet time on the trail. It was another beautiful Saturday after a rainy week and it was nice to be out early and away from the crowds of runners. My first 4 went well and I decided to run with the 10:45 pace group for the next 7. I was really excited to finish up those 7 with my average heart rate in the very bottom of zone 2. It was a nice finish to a strong week, totaling 29 miles. My plan for today was to take the dogs hiking as my cross training, but when I woke up, NO SURPRISE – we had torrential rain. It eventually cleared up, but I knew the hiking trail would be too muddy. I’ll try again next weekend.

After Saturday’s group run, a few of us met up for brunch. I had some chicken & waffles and Courtney and I both enjoyed a mimosa. Amanda had a birthday last week, so it was fun to all get together.

Post-run brunch fun!
Post-run brunch fun!

Saturday afternoon Courtney & I went to RunFest where the medals were revealed for the marathon. We got all kinds of free stuff, including some delicious ice cream.

What runner doesn't want free Girl Scout cookies and ice cream?
What runner doesn’t want free Girl Scout cookies and ice cream?
Ice cream and marathon medal.
Ice cream and marathon medal.

Afterward I headed to the salon to get a mani/pedi. I haven’t had one done in almost 3 years so I decided to treat myself (“Treat yo’ self!”). I can’t usually justify spending so much money on my nails, but I was ready for some relaxing “me” time before heading out Saturday night. Saturday night my husband and I went out on a double date with our friends Dana & Todd. We had lots of laughs and good food. A bison burger and pink lemonade made for a great summertime meal.

YUM.
YUM.

After dinner, we headed upstairs to a bar I really like for a dessert drink. I ordered a “Gimme S’more” which consisted of bourbon and marshmallow topping. It was yummy and a good way to wrap up a fun night.

Gimme S'more!!!
Gimme S’more!!!

I’m feeling good about training and so far am really enjoying it. Despite the rain, I am just really enjoying the time outside on my feet. These summer morning runs have been a nice change compared to what this winter was like. A lot of people have been complaining about the heat and humidity, but for me it is such a relief compared to this winter’s 0-10 degree morning’s. Weeks 5 and 6 should be pretty easy before the mileage really starts to pile up in week 7. With less than 100 days until the marathon, I can’t believe how quickly this month is flying by. August will bring a 10 miler and half marathon which will be a nice way to break up the month and long weekend miles.

2 thoughts on “Columbus Marathon Training Weeks 3 & 4

  1. I need that s’mores drink…. like right now! Looks amazing. Great job on your runs this week! I’ll admit I’ve been complaining about the heat lately. 95 degrees is just straight up uncomfortable to run in. It was in the 80s when we started our long run Saturday at 8 am! Crazy. I’ll take some of your rain please 🙂

    1. I still think 95 degrees is more comfortable than below 20 degree weather which is what I ran in all winter long. At least in the heat I can barely have anything on and dump water on my head/neck. All winter I felt like I was carrying around extra weight because even “light layering” adds up when it’s that cold.. not to mention not being able to feel my feet or hands for the first 2-3 miles of a run. It was just so miserable that I am honestly happy for the heat – plus the fall temperatures will feel amazing. And you are MORE than welcome to take our rain. We get about one day of sunshine a week right now (today’s the day!) and it’s really a downer and the rest of the week it’s just humid and rainy, yuck. I am dreading winter running right now and am enjoying the early morning birds chirping and actually seeing other people out! And yes, the s’mores drink was wonderful – come run a race in Columbus and we can go get one!

Leave a Reply

