Columbus Marathon Training Weeks 5 & 6

I can’t believe I’m already a third of the way through marathon training. My base building phase is officially passing and I am moving on to higher cumulative mileage and Saturday long runs.

Week 5 had me finishing out at 30 miles total. I had a long run of 12 miles last weekend and not only was it going to be hot, but my training group was meeting 20 minutes away. I decided to head down to the local trail and get started at 6 am so I could get it done before it really started to get hot. I was the only car in the parking lot and saw only a handful of people during the first hour. It was actually really peaceful and my body handled the heat better than I thought. I also continued with my new found love of running without music and was surprised how quickly the miles still passed.

  
This week was a cut-back week which totaled 26 miles including a long run of 9 miles this weekend. The training group was doing 12 miles for marathoners and the halfs were doing 6, so I headed out early and did 3 by myself before joining the group for 6. I ran with the 10:15 pace group and was really happy to have finished with my HR right in the middle of zone 2 where it should be. 

It’s going to be another HOT week, but another week with no rain which is such a nice change. This is what our summer has looked like for the most part this year (and this is not an exaggeration). 

 
Coming up next weekend is a 10 miler race that I have been wanting to do for about two years and have always had something come up that weekend. I will use it as part of my 14 mile long run and won’t be racing it. There is also a half marathon in August that I will be running (but again, not racing) and Courtney and I will do another long run on the marathon course. I feel like August is going to fly by and then I will be in my last month of training. It’s crazy how quickly it’s going by!

3 thoughts on “Columbus Marathon Training Weeks 5 & 6

  1. I feel like July has just flown by. I mean wasn’t 4th of July weekend just a few days ago?! Our marathons will be here so quickly if this keeps up!

    Sounds like you had two great weeks of training. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

