Friday Five: 5 Shows to Watch on Netflix

Ahhh Netflix, I love it. When my husband & I moved to Ohio we decided not to subscribe to cable. When we were seniors in college, he didn’t have cable and we found we didn’t miss it. We decided to get an antenna for the TV and just add a Hulu subscription along with our Netflix subscription. I find we watch Netflix more than anything and since they’ve started producing their own shows we find ourselves even more drawn into watching it. The following list is not necessarily just Netflix shows and some of them are shows you may have already watched, but here are 5 shows I recommend watching on Netflix (in no specific order).

1. The Killing
If the title didn’t give it away, this is a crime drama. It was originally an AMC show that was cancelled, but then saved by Netflix. I’ll be real here, season two is kind of slow (probably why it got cancelled), but Netflix picked it up and gave it a final two seasons that were worth it. There are only 4 seasons in all and you can’t not love characters Sarah Linden and Stephen Holder.

2. Friday Night Lights
I know, I know, this one ended a while ago and was just a NBC show, but it (obviously) aired on Friday nights and from 2008-2011 I wasn’t exactly sitting home watching TV on Friday’s. My husband originally whined when I started watching this (“Ugh, a football show?”) but this show isn’t really about football (and he ended up watching ahead and finishing before me!). Kyle Chandler and Connie Britton are both great in it. I felt empty when I finished the last episode and will definitely go through and watch all of the seasons again eventually.

3. Bloodline
Bloodline is a Netflix original series and – SURPRISE – Kyle Chandler stars in it. Yes, I loved him so much in Friday Night Lights I decided to give this show a try. It’s a drama that is based on family secrets. The first few episodes are so. very. slow. When I saw that Kyle Chandler was nominated for a primetime Emmy for this one, I decided to stick it out and I was glad I did. After episode 5 things start to pick up and the show begins to hit its stride. I’m looking forward to season 2!

4. The Fall
This is a psychological thriller from BBC starring Gillian Anderson (you may know her better as Dana Scully from the X-Files) and Jamie Doran (you man know him better as Christian Grey, but I watched this long before he was cast in that role). Jamie Dornan is a family man who also happens to be a serial killer. There are currently two seasons (or “series” as they call it on the other side of the pond) and it was announced in March 2015 that there will be a third.

5. Rules of Engagement
We watch a lot of dramas, but we love a good sitcom, too! A coworker once recommended this show and my husband & I decided to give it a try. If you’re in a serious relationship, engaged, or married, it’s a must-watch. It ran from 2007-2013 and we still haven’t grown tired of watching it since there are so many relatable moments. It stars Megyan Price, Bianca Kajlich, Patrick Warburton (Joe Swanson on Family Guy!), Oliver Hudson, and David Spade. “Ohh, but I can’t stand David Spade!” well, that’s kind of his role on this show – that annoying, gross, slightly obnoxious friend that you can’t quite get away from!

We watch shows like House of Cards and Orange is the New Black as well, but I wanted to throw some shows out there that maybe hadn’t been discovered or given a try yet! Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Friday Five: 5 Shows to Watch on Netflix

  1. Daredevil is great too! First few episodes are a bit slow, but I binged the last four because I couldn’t stop – highly recommend!! It is a bit dark though. Bloodline was my favorite!!!

Leave a Reply

