Friday Five: 5 Things I Love About Football Season

Football season is just around the corner! Since VCU doesn’t have a football team, I proudly cheer for the Buckeye’s. During Kevin’s last year in his doctorate, we got ourselves a set of student tickets and I went to some of the games with him and some of the games with my friend Caroline. We also often head to a local sports bar to watch the games or hang out at home. I’m looking forward to football season this year and here are 5 things I love about football season.

Community
No matter what everyone else has going on in their lives, the whole community comes together to cheer on their favorite teams. If they win, we celebrate together. If they lose, we commiserate together.

Game time.
Game time.

Built-in Saturday plans
What will you find me doing after my Saturday long run? Watching football, of course. For the next 3ish months I have easy Saturday plans. Some Saturday’s I may fold laundry or clean up downstairs or I may go out with friends, but I can have the game on and have something to do by default.

Cheers to football!
Cheers to football!

Beer
Duh. What’s better than having a beer at 11:30 am on a Saturday?

Dear Allison, Please move back to CBus and watch football with me and Caroline. Thanks.
Dear Allison, Please move back to CBus and watch football with me and Caroline. Thanks.

Time with friends
Football games are a great excuse to get together with friends and just hang out. It’s a pretty no-pressure situation to have friends come over for the game. Just some good food and good football is all that’s needed. We even had mimosas for one of the early games.

 

My favorite Buckeye fans. We're working on getting a bandana for Archie, too!
My favorite Buckeye fans. We’re working on getting a bandana for Archie, too!

Spirit
Everyone is much more spirited and excited in general during football season. They’re always looking forward to the weekends and it seems the general mood is better… just give everyone a day or two after a loss to regroup.

So there you have it, 5 things I love about football season. O-H!

3 thoughts on “Friday Five: 5 Things I Love About Football Season

Leave a Reply

