Friday Five: 5 Songs I Added to My Marathon Playlist

This past week I freshened up my playlist in preparation for next weekend’s marathon (eeeek!). Most of the songs on my playlist I still enjoy, but I had a few I found I always skipped over. I haven’t really decided how I am going to use my music on race day, but right now I am thinking I will probably run most of the first half without music. There are a lot of runners and tons of spectators in the first half to keep me entertained. After the half marathoner’s break off to the finish and the marathoners continue on I think I will welcome the extra entertainment. I’m not a big hip-hop/R&B/rap fan, so I tend to build up my playlist with songs that make me want to dance, make me want to sing at the top of my lungs, or have strong lyrics that keep pushing me forward. I also don’t really care for music that is loud and heavy when I start to get tired so I think some of the music I run to is a little less conventional when it comes to a running playlist.

Downtown (feat. Eric Nally, Melle Mel, Kool Moe Dee & Grandmaster Caz) – Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
This one is kind of cliche, but I absolutely love this song. I think it’s so silly and fun and it makes me want to dance every time I hear it. I’m hoping this one will help raise my spirits as the miles get more tough.

Alive – Sia
I love Sia! I’m a huge fan of her raw voice and deep lyrics. This one has the quieter versus that I crave when I start to get tired, but a powerful chorus of Sia blaring out “I’m alive” over and over.

Back to You – Twin Forks
Dashboard Confessional fans rejoice, Chris Carrabba is back with Twin Forks. This song is really upbeat and fun. It’s easy on the ears and just an enjoyable tune. It’s definitely more country/bluegrass feeling, so if you’re not a fan of that type of music this one probably won’t do it for you! (But if you were a Dashboard fan, there are other songs on the album that sound a bit more like that). (Song starts about 1:50)


Everything is Alright – Motion City Soundtrack
I like a good throw back on my playlists. I found these always make me smile and feel a little nostalgic. Look how old the video looks! So comical. This one is sure to make me smile when I’m feeling rough.

Tear in My Heart – twenty one pilots
Holding On To You is one of my favorite songs to run to so I was happy when twenty one pilots’ new album came out for more great running tunes. Tear in My Heart has a great beat and some silly lyrics that make me smile. Also, they’re from Columbus so it seems appropriate to have them on my playlist for the marathon.

Of course I have plenty of other songs on my list for a few hours of music choices. Switchfoot and OneRepublic are popular on my list since they both have a lot of songs with a great beat and great lyric.

3 thoughts on “Friday Five: 5 Songs I Added to My Marathon Playlist

Leave a Reply

