Hiking, Halloween, and Back to Running

Last Sunday was a beautiful fall day and the peak of the leaves so my husband & I headed out to one of our many awesome metro parks for a short hike with the dogs. I had my first run the day prior, just 2 slow miles, and it was awkward and clunky – I felt like a baby giraffe learning to walk.

My husband & Archie
My husband & Archie
Gorgeous fall leaves
Gorgeous fall leaves
Gus came, too!
Gus came, too!

Wednesday was our end of season dinner for my running group. This year they gave out superlatives. Mine was for finishing my first marathon, of course! My friend Nicole received “Most supportive running partner” for switching from the half marathon to the full marathon to run with me. It was a fun evening.

What whaaaat!
What whaaaat!

Thursday was my office Halloween. It’s a pretty big deal at the firm I work at with prizes for best group costume, best decorations, scariest costume, most creative costume, and funniest costume. My team choose to do traditional Halloween costumes and turned our cubes into a haunted house. It was pretty awesome & we ended up winning best decorations… which was no surprise!

The bride of Frankenstein & me as a witch! I had a client meeting that morning so I couldn't wear fun make up :-(
The bride of Frankenstein & me as a witch! I had a client meeting that morning so I couldn’t wear fun make up šŸ˜¦
The cube I helped decorate
The cube I helped decorate
My cube for the day. Yeah, we used dry ice for fog!
My cube for the day. Yeah, we used dry ice for fog! And yeah, that’s our coworker’s head in a jar!
My team.
My team.

My BFF lives in North Carolina and I was texting her pictures and we discovered we’d both bought the same little sign from Target.Ā I love that we’re both nerds and thought it was funny.

Silly besties.
Silly besties.

My office building is right at an indoor/outdoor mall so we did a little parade around the mall. This was actually my favorite part of the day. We went inside and took a group picture on a set of stairs. One of the workers at the mall cleaning the indoor area was taking pictures and asked if she could take my picture. It was obvious that it really brightened her day to see all of us dressed up which made me happy.

I ran every other day last week. Monday and Friday were short, easy, miles and Wednesday I did a warm up/cool down with the middle miles at marathon pace just to get my legs moving. It was obvious from my heart rate that I wasn’t yet recovered. Saturday morning I picked up my friend Katie and we headed down to the trail for 6 miles together. I enjoyed catching up with her and hearing about her race experience. I had seen her running up the last mile of the marathon and she had looked strong and happy and her recount confirmed that she had felt that way. Next weekend our other friend will be joining us for some miles since the next season of our training group doesn’t start until January.

I ran this morning and was happy to see my heart rate was back to normal. For now I am running every other day andĀ feeling like I have some balance back in my life which is nice. I’m keeping my miles short and easy and may start to throw some workouts in once I’m sure I’m recovered.

One other thing I’m excited about is REI’s opt outside campaign. In case you missed it, REI will be closed on Black Friday and giving the majority of its employees a paid day off (there are some employees that are on call). They’ve asked people to #optoutside for Black Friday. My husband & I had already made plans to go hiking that day so I’m pretty excited to officially opt outside!

IMG_3308

I’llĀ complete my rambling with a funny story. My husband is getting over a nasty cold so after my run on Saturday I stopped at the store to stock up on some tea (we’re big tea drinkers, but especially when we’re sick!). When I checked out, I wasn’t charged tax. I told my husband this when I got home and he said, “Well, ever since the Boston Tea Party there hasn’t been a tax on tea.” I said, “Really?!” and he started laughing at me. It sounded so believable! I’m still laughing about it. I hope everyone has a nice week.

Leave a Reply

