Friday Five: 5 of My Favorite Thanksgiving Foods

Thanksgiving is just around the corner. I was never a huge Thanksgiving fan, but since we’ve moved to Ohio we’ve taken on preparing Thanksgiving dinner for ourselves so I have a new appreciation for the food of the holiday.

The first turkey we ever made.
The first turkey we ever made.

Green bean casserole
Cream of mushroom soup and French-fried onions?! What more can you want? I just have to be sure I don’t eat the remainder of the French-fried onions while I’m waiting for it to cook.

Stuffed mushrooms
My mom always made these when I was growing up and I love them. Ironically, my mom doesn’t like mushrooms so she always spent time making them, but didn’t eat them. When I was in college my parents came down to Richmond one year to have Thanksgiving at my sister’s apartment and that’s when I took over making the mushrooms. I’ve made them traditionally with breadcrumbs and also with brie and apple.

Garlic mashed potatoes
My husband makes the creamiest, most delicious garlic mashed potatoes. I can’t get enough of them!

Dig in!
Dig in!

Crockpot Mac & Cheese
This is something my husband’s family makes so when it was time to have Thanksgiving for ourselves, I decided to add this recipe. It’s super rich and creamy so a lot isn’t needed, but it’s so good.

Pumpkin bread
This could probably be a dessert, but it’s still pretty delicious. Trader Joe’s has a great mix that’s easy to make.

2 thoughts on “Friday Five: 5 of My Favorite Thanksgiving Foods

  1. Thanksgiving is my favorite meal of the year! It’s a fun holiday for me because it is super low key, and we spend it at my parents house. We make mostly my mom’s recipes, like her stuffing and her stuffed mushrooms. But we both love to cook so we’ve played around with different recipes for things like the turkey, sweet potatoes, etc. Last year, we deep fried a turkey! It was so fun and amazing. I also make a sweet potato souffle that my family loves. I found the recipe a few years back and it literally tastes like candy! We are currently renovating our kitchen, but when it’s done I can’t wait to host Thanksgiving at my house! I’m jealous that you get to do it! Your meal looks fabulous!

    1. Ohh kitchen renovation, how exciting! I know some people get so stressed out about hosting Thanksgiving, but I thought it was fun. Maybe it was because we only had a few people over. Sweet potato soufflé sounds amaaaazing.

Leave a Reply

