Weekly Wrap Up – It’s Almost Thanksgiving!

It’s the most wonderful time of the year! But seriously, I love the holiday season and I am very excited that it’s almost Thanksgiving. Work has been very busy as we get ready for 2016, but that has helped the days fly by. I’m a month out from the marathon now and am finally feeling fully recovered. This was the first week I truly felt motivated to get up each morning and run again. Granted, we had some super warm morning’s and I even wore shorts and a tank top for one of my runs! But otherwise, I am now getting excited about half marathon training and I finally sat down this weekend and began sketching out my training plan.

I hit 25 miles this week and did a workout on Wednesday. My plan was 1 mile warm up, 3 miles at half marathon pace (8:30) and 1 mile cool down. I hit the first mile right on, but the other two were a wee too fast. I’m using 8:30 for my half marathon paced workouts for now because that is a pace I know I could comfortably run a half marathon at right now. Once I get into training I will adjust based on my current fitness, but I don’t want to over do it on the off-season.

Saturday morning sunrise.
Saturday morning sunrise.

Saturday morning I met up with my friend Katie and one of our coaches also named Katie and another friend named Kim for a 12 mile run. It was chilly, but sunny and beautiful. A complete difference from Saturday afternoon/night’s ugly rainy weather. This was my and Katie’s longest run since the marathon and it felt good to get the miles back up there.

I can’t get a run in Monday or Tuesday this week, so this morning I got up early and did 5 miles. It was frigid – in the 20s – and flurrying a little, but it was nice to get out and run one of my regular routes in the morning sun.

I’m really enjoying the off-season. For my spring off season, I focused on heart rate training and getting my zone 2 pace to a reasonable speed. For my winter off-season, I haven’t been wearing my heart rate monitor as often, but have been sticking to my 10:30 pace since I know that falls within my zone 2. It’s been nice to be a bit more casual about my running and get some extra rest and recovery time. After Thanksgiving I am going to add my 5th day of running back in since once we hit the new year it will be time to start training again.

Since I was up early to run this morning, I got out to the grocery store early to pick up Thanksgiving food and general food for the week. I knew it would get crowded in the afternoon so I was happy to have it done and over with. I actually cooked the green bean casserole and crock pot mac & cheese today. Since it will just be myself and my husband for Thanksgiving this year, we will cook up some mashed potatoes and a big ol’ turkey thigh on Thanksgiving day, but being able to reheat these two sides will allow us to spend less time cooking and more time enjoying the day. Plus, I plan on eating some of the mac & cheese with dinner tonight!

My favorite!
My favorite!
Just a few hours until this is cheesy amazing goodness.
Just a few hours until this is cheesy amazing goodness.

On Friday my husband & I have planned to do some hiking. He is starting a new job after Thanksgiving which means for the first time in over 4 years he will no longer be working on Saturday! We are excited to start getting out for some more hiking and camping and we are planning a spring backpacking trip after my half marathon. Since we plan to do a ton more hiking in 2016, I headed to REI this week and got a new pair of hiking shoes.

IMG_3544

I bought my first Christmas gifts this week and was excited to find out that my sister and brother-in-law will be sticking around an extra day at my parent’s house. I’m very close with my sister, but haven’t seen her at all this year since she lives in another state.

That’s about it for this week! I hope everyone has a great Thanksgiving.

4 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up – It’s Almost Thanksgiving!

  1. Your post just made me hungry! All of your food looks fabulous. This is the first week that I also woke up and just felt like running. I am loving this off season. What a gorgeous shot of the sky!

  2. I’m so excited for Christmas! We don’t have thanksgiving in the UK, though I should really make friends with some London-based Americans so I can crash theirs 😛 How long did it take you to get used to HR training? I really wanna give it a go but to be honest I’m really impatient and don’t know if I could cope with going slowly!

    1. It took me a good 6-8 weeks to get used to HR training. I’d say the first 3 weeks were the hardest and then it got easier. That being said, if you have no way of being properly tested to find out what your max HR is then I’m not sure how helpful it is to train that way!

Leave a Reply

