Weekly Wrap Up – It’s Almost Christmas!

This past week flew by! We have been really busy at work getting ready for 2016, so there never feels like there’s enough hours in the day. It was a pretty good week running-wise. I started off the week with 5 easy miles. On Wednesday I headed to the gym to do some speed work. I did a 1 mile warm up, 6×800 @ 7:30 pace with 1 minute rest between, and 1 mile cool down. I’m not a huge fan of doing speed work on the treadmill because I honestly feel it’s easier to hit paces when the treadmill is pulling you along, but my friend Katie pointed out it also means you can’t slow down during intervals without pushing buttons to do so. Friday morning I woke up before my alarm and just didn’t feel like running. I was pretty tired which I think was from the busy week, but about half of my department was sick last week so I also thought maybe my body was fighting something off. I decided to take advantage of the off season and went back to sleep! Saturday morning I met my friend Katie for a 12 mile run. Not only was it below freezing the entire run, it was foggy the entire time which made it a chilly and wet run. By mile 10 we were both really over it and ready to be done! Afterward I went home, took a hot shower, and curled up on the couch for a few hours. I am very ready for a week of downtime during the holidays!

Last Sunday we bought and put up our Christmas tree. Gus has never paid much attention to it in the past, but this year he’s sniffed it a few times. I can’t blame him, it smells good.

IMG_3742

This is Archie’s first year with us for Christmas and aside from some sniffing he’s pretty much left the tree alone. He’s crated when we’re not home, so who knows how it would go if he weren’t!

IMG_3744Last night we decided to hang out at home. We ordered food to go and stopped at CVS to pick up a few things before getting our food. I found these mini-stockings and got one for each dog.

IMG_3781After dinner last night, we got our first fire of the season going in the fireplace and played Wii for a while. We have Wii Sports Resort and tried canoeing for the first time – we were both horrible at it and I’m still laughing just thinking about it. I got my butt kicked in all of our games, but I’ll chalk it up to the fact that I’ve been out running instead of inside playing video games. I’ll put aside the fact that my husband hasn’t been inside playing video games, either.

IMG_3783

Next weekend is jam-packed with holiday parties, so my goal this week is to get enough rest and hopefully stay healthy so I can enjoy myself next weekend. If that means skipping some mileage for additional rest, then that’s what I’ll do. I’ve been sticking to my 20-25 miles a week so I still feel I’m in a good place going into my base building phase in January.

I hope everyone had a nice week. Happy Hanukkah to all of my Jewish friends!

2 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up – It’s Almost Christmas!

  1. The mini stockings might best the cutest things ever. Your fire looks so cozy! We have a fireplace, but we are renovating the room that it’s in so no cozy fires for us during the holiday season. I was happy to live vicariously through your post!

Leave a Reply

