Cheers to 2015

This has definitely been a busy & exciting year. Here are a few of my favorite highlights (running and non-running) from 2015.

My husband premiered his first ballet
My husband composed a ballet and collaborated with a local dance group to have it performed. There was a full page article about the collaboration in the local paper that is now framed & hanging in our living room. I was really proud of his hard work and excited to see his music come to life.

My husband's ballet
My husband’s ballet being performed

We brought home Archie!
In the spring my husband started talking about adopting a second dog. I was hesitant at first, but now I am head-over-heels for our basset hound, Archie. He makes us laugh every day and we think Gus is much happier with a companion.

IMG_1737

I ran my first marathon
Definitely a highlight of this year especially considering I planned my entire 2015 running season around staying healthy and training for the race. It was my first, but it won’t be my last.

Post-marathon celebration
Post-marathon celebration

New Running Friendships
When I switched to heart rate training for the marathon I dropped back to a slower pace group in my training group and made some new wonderful friends. My friend Katie actually went to school with my husband so I had known her a little, but we’ve really gotten to know each other over miles and miles training for our first marathon and I am so thankful to have gotten to know her better this year. I also have a wonderful pace coach named Katie that constantly kept us positive and laughing during our long runs. I also deepened my friendships with Nicole and Joe and really formed a bond with them when they agreed to run alongside me during my marathon. I am so happy to have such a great group of friends and I really look forward to spending my Saturday mornings with them!

Running friends are the best friends
Running friends are the best friends
Right after we crossed the finish line
Right after we crossed the finish line

VACATION!
My husband and I hadn’t been on vacation since our honeymoon three years ago so we were well overdue. We packed up the pups and headed down to a cabin for Thanksgiving. We did a ton of hiking and a lot of relaxing. It was a great trip and there are definitely some camping and hiking adventures being planned for 2016.

The best kind of family time
The best kind of family time

My favorite race of the year
I like to mention my favorite race of the year. This year it was the Columbus 10K. Even though the marathon was a highlight of the year and definitely a great memory, I really loved the 10K! It’s a small race with really no spectators that is run mostly on the greenway. It was a nice change to the larger scale races and I loved the little medal and water bottle I got at the end. The kids run beforehand was so fun to watch and it was just a good-spirited race. I’m hoping to run it again in 2016.

Post-race with Nicole & Courtney
Post-race with Nicole & Courtney

I’m excited to see what 2016 has in store. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

