Glass City Half Marathon Training: Week Four

A whole month of training down. Things warmed up enough to get outside for every run this week. Friday morning we had a dusting of snow, but it was that crunchy kind that makes for an enjoyable slow run.

Monday: 5 miles moderate pace
Tuesday: Strength (shoulders)
Wednesday: 1 mile w/u, 3×1 mile with 1 min rest, 1 mile c/d
Thursday: 3 mile recovery
Friday: 4 miles easy pace, runner specific strength & balance work
Saturday: 10 mile group run
Sunday: Rest
Total Miles: 27

Nothing too significant to share this week. I did my Wednesday workout along my normal route rather than doing mile repeats on one flat spot. My first mile was closest to goal pace, but my second and third were too fast so it was kind of a failure. I am always looking forward to my recovery run on Thursday. As I mentioned, Friday morning’s run was snowy. I had to take the first and last mile a little slower, but overall it was a really enjoyable run. Things warmed up for the weekend which was great.

Saturday night my husband & I headed downtown. We haven’t been downtown in a while and really during the winter we spend most Saturday nights at home in front of the fire. We went to dinner and then walked around the river for a while before walking to another bar for more drinks before heading home. It was nice to enjoy the spring-like air. About 6 more weeks until the weather is like this as the norm.

View from the river
View from the river

Earlier in the day on Saturday I took the dogs to the dog park. Since we don’t have a fenced in yard, I’ve been trying to get them there more often to spend some time off-leash. They get walked twice a day, but sometimes I feel bad they don’t get to wander around and sniff at their leisure. For the most part Gus likes to do his own thing and sniffs around other dogs once in a while. Archie likes to explore and visit with as many dogs as he can. He played with a beagle for a little while as well.

Dog park fun
Dog park fun

This afternoon I met up with some runner friends for brunch. Three of them came straight from a run together and the rest of us met up at the restaurant. I had been to the same restaurant when it first opened and hadn’t been back. I wasn’t too impressed with my food, but it was nice to catch up with the group and have some time together talking about non-running related things.

Another weekend has gone by too fast. It’s crazy that February is already here. This weekend’s weather was such a teaser to spring which has me somewhat wishing February away already. I’m tired & just rambling now.

Have a great week!

2 thoughts on “Glass City Half Marathon Training: Week Four

  1. Sounds like you had a great weekend! That city view looks lovely – is that Columbus? If so I’ve really underestimated it all these years!

    What effort level do you aim for in your moderate pace workouts? I’ve never really incorporated that type of run into training before (well, as long as we’re not counting the “easy runs” that I lied to myself about the effort level), mine usually just easy or hard with the long run at a moderate pace (although long runs are supposed to always count as a hard workout, right?). I’m interested to learn the theory and benefits behind running at a moderate pace during training.

    1. It is Columbus, we have a beautiful riverfront thanks to a project that was recently finished and it actually connects to our multipurpose trail that goes all the way up to the suburbs. The city has grown so much just in the last 5 years I’ve lived here. My runs are (obviously!) all based on my heart rate zones and even though I don’t wear my HR monitor all the time now, I have a pretty good idea of what zone I’m in based on pace from all of my marathon training. The way it’s set up for me is that recovery runs are in zone 1 (I wear my HR monitor for that), my easy days including my long runs are zone 2, zone 3 are my moderate days, and zone 4 & 5 is interval work. Zone 3 is the “tempo” zone, but it’s a huge heart rate range for me so I have been aiming for a 9 minute pace which is mid-to-low in zone 3 for me. I’ve been trying to stay between 8:30-9:00 pace. My goal with these runs is to get my heart rate up into zone 3 without wearing myself out too much or hitting my VO2 max. Except this morning I did it too fast, oops! I blame the warm weather 🙂

Leave a Reply

