Glass City Half Marathon Training: Week Fourteen

Week fourteen was my peak week for this training cycle. I fully recovered from my cold, but the end of the week brought rain, cold, and snow. The extended forecast is looking like things will be warming up for race day which has both positives and negatives. I’m over the sub-freezing temps though, so I’ll take it.

Monday: 6 miles, easy
Tuesday: 10 miles, 1 mile w/u, 8 @ 8, 1 mile c/d
Wednesday: Rest
Thursday: 4 miles, easy
Friday: 6 miles, easy
Saturday: 14 miles, easy
Sunday: 6 miles, easy
Total Miles: 46

I was supposed to peak at 40 miles, but I won’t be able to get my run in Monday morning so I decided to tack it onto peak week and start to cut down the mileage a little more this upcoming week than originally planned. At this point the work is done so I am happy to have a little less on my plate running-wise this upcoming week.

Tuesday’s run was actually done in the evening. My friend Tim that is running the half with me was in town for work so we decided to meet up and run together. The 8 min pace is slightly slower than my tempo pace, but since I don’t normally run in the evening and because it’s the end of training there didn’t seem to be any reason to push it. This workout felt hard, but Tim nonchalantly pointed it, “It should though, right?” I chatted almost the entire time and told Tim that there will be no consistent talking from me on race day. When I first finished this run I had mixed feelings, but ultimately I ended up being pretty satisfied with this workout. Because my schedule for the prior week had been shuffled around due to my cold, this was the 5th day in a row that I was running and this 10 miler brought my total mileage across those days to 38 miles.

The weather that day was in the mid-40s and sunny, but that was the last of the nice weather for the week. By Thursday morning it was raining and getting cold again. On Saturday morning I drove through a light snow to meet my training group.

Saturday morning long miles
Isn’t it Spring?

The full marathoners had 20 miles on schedule and the half marathoners had 11. I arrived early and got my 3 miles in before our group run started. Once we turned around, the pace coaches in charge were going oddly slow so my buddy Katie and I got in front of them and just went off on our own. Now that I’m in the end of training, my paces for my heart rate zones have shifted a bit and sticking with the slower pace of the group had me running in zone one. Once Katie and I pulled ahead I was back in zone two and happy to make the last part of my long run more productive. I was happy to wrap up peak week, but then later realized it wasn’t quite wrapped up.

Post-long run brunch. Ham, egg, and cheese sandwich with some mixed fruit.
Post-long run brunch. Ham, egg, and cheese sandwich with some mixed fruit.

I already mentioned that I won’t be able to get my run in on Monday morning. I would normally push it to Tuesday, our local running store is having their second annual gala/fashion show fundraiser to benefit our local Girls On the Run chapter on Monday night. The head organizer of our training group reached out to me a few weeks ago and asked if I would be interested in volunteering as a “model” at the event. I am really looking forward to having some fun Monday night and don’t want to have to worry about getting home early so I can get up and run the next morning. I also have a mani/pedi evening outing with my department and one of our media partners on Wednesday night, so shifting the mileage a bit is the best move so I can enjoy everything I have planned.

Last night my husband and I went to see Ben Folds play with the Columbus Symphony Orchestra. I saw him play with them in the summer of 2014 at their outdoor pops concert, but my husband had his own orchestra performance that night and couldn’t make it. We were able to see him on his chamber orchestra tour in November, but when I got the email that he’d be back again to play with the symphony I jumped at the opportunity to get tickets. The show was pretty much sold out and we had a really good time. Probably one of my favorite nights out in a while.

img_4931

There are a few historic theaters in the area where we’ve seen concerts and theater and they are just so beautiful. Our seats were great and we had some pretty entertaining people around us. Nights like that are when I am especially happy to be married to a professional musician so I don’t feel like I’m “dragging” my husband to shows like that. He really enjoyed it and it was a great night.

The Ohio Theater
The Ohio Theater

So here I go, time to taper down to race day. Two weeks from today I will be hitting the course for 13.1 miles of tough running. I am really happy with this training cycle and am confident in what I’ve accomplished in the past fourteen weeks. I’m proud of myself for putting in so much work and sticking to my plan on the many mornings I didn’t feel like getting up, didn’t feel like running fast, didn’t feel like running in the cold, etc. This was a “no excuse” training cycle and the hardest in a while, but I’ve felt really happy and committed the whole time. I’ve thought about what it will be like if things don’t go well on race day, but I am so happy with my progress and accomplishments these past few weeks that I’m not even sure how much it will matter. For now there’s two more weeks to get ready for race day and I am going to continue to take these runs seriously even with the hard work behind me.

10 thoughts on “Glass City Half Marathon Training: Week Fourteen

  1. Wow 8 miles at an 8:00 pace? Holy crap! You’re going to get a huge PR at Glass City! If you can do that in a workout you can easily run a 1:45 half. That should be a huge confidence boost for you! Are you running the race with pacers?

    Enjoy your taper and congrats on a great cycle!

      1. Haha, of course it’s hard to imagine it now, you are untapered and tired from your training! Freshly tapered legs + race day adrenaline = superpowers!! Well, sort of, LOL. I can’t believe you’re going to train for a marathon after this. But maybe that’s because I’m so pooped right now I don’t know how anyone trains for anything ever. After race day I think it’s going to be a long time before I even want to think about running more than 5 miles!

      2. I have about 2 months after the half to just fun run & fun race until marathon training begins! I’m also planning to take the entire week after the half off, but overall I think marathon training is so much more draining both physically and mentally than half marathon training. Even working towards a PR pace, 13.1 just doesn’t seem as daunting as 26.2.

  2. Great job on your 8 @ 8 workout! I know you mentioned that it felt hard, but if you were chatting during the run and in the middle of your peak training week I would say that is an EXCELLENT indication of being ready for a 1:45 half marathon! I expect to have some friends finishing around that time so I will be on the lookout for you at the finish line.

  3. Wow, awesome week with high mileage overall and an awesome 10-mile midweek run! I peaked at 47 miles for my HM but was a big baby about it, ha ha. You should be proud of your training and feeling confident! I think that goes so long on race day. Oh and fun fact: Many people think my husband looks like Ben Folds. 🙂

Leave a Reply

