Glass City Half Marathon Training: Week Fifteen

I did it! 15 weeks of training is in the books. I’ve officially hit race week and I am looking forward to some low mileage this week as I taper down for race day. Week 15 was busy and really quickly flew by and I am so happy about the beautiful weather this weekend brought. As I mentioned last week, I moved my Monday run to Sunday since I wouldn’t be able to run Monday morning. My husband went on an overnight backpacking trip Sunday night which meant I needed to do the morning dog-walk which takes about 20 minutes or so (it’s a mile long walk) on top of everything else in the morning. Monday night I volunteered at a fundraiser for Girls on the Run, so my running week didn’t start until Wednesday.

Monday: Rest
Tuesday: Rest
Wednesday: 8 miles, 1 mile w/u, 5 miles tempo, 1 mile @ MP, 1 mile c/d
Thursday: 4 miles, easy
Friday: 6.5 miles, easy
Saturday: 10 miles, easy
Sunday: 3 miles, easy
Total Miles: 31.5

Wednesday’s speed work was the complete opposite of the previous week. Physically I felt great, but mentally I just wasn’t into it. I’m honestly just over training at this point. I’ve put in the work and these last two weeks are really maintenance. My legs were cold despite wearing my thermal tights and after mile 5 I decided to do one more tempo mile and then drop down to marathon pace before cooling down. This has been a really strong training cycle and I know I’m as ready as I can be at this point, so I had no guilt about switching my workout – it just didn’t seem worth it to push it for another mile if my mind wasn’t into it.

Saturday morning my running buddy Katie had to be somewhere early so we decided to skip our group run and meet up at 6 am. I love running early and getting it out of the way so I can enjoy the day so I was very into this plan. It’s finally started getting lighter early here so we only needed our headlamps for about 30 minutes, but I think that’s the first time I’ve brought both a head lamp and sunglasses with me on a run. It was really nice to get out on the trail that early. It was quiet and we saw a few rabbits and a raccoon. I was surprised we didn’t see any deer, but they must have still been asleep. I was done with my run before 8am which made me really happy.

This morning I had planned to do 3 easy miles. Our basset hound, Archie, woke me up at 4:30. I made him go back to sleep, but when he woke me up again at 6:30 I knew it was time for him to go out. I was out the door for a run by 7 and home by 7:30. It was chilly, but since the day was forecasted to be so beautiful I was happy to get out early. I had run, walked the dogs, eaten breakfast, weeded/cleaned up the garden bed, and updated my playlist for the race all by 10:30 this morning. I took a mid-morning nap and then enjoyed the rest of the beautiful day with errands and chores.

To back track a bit, I had mentioned that Monday night was the fundraiser for Girls on the Run. This was a fashion show/gala event put on by our local running stores and I was invited to “model” some sports wear. I ended up modeling the Nike Sidewinder Epic Lux Women’s Running Crops in Multi-Color/Light Blue with the Dri-FIT Cool Breeze Strappy Women’s Running Tank Top in Light Photo Blue and wore the Nike Air Zoome Vomero 11 in Blue Grey/Hyper Violet/Blue Tint/Black.

img_4955

img_4954

They didn’t have the top in an XS so the Nike rep ended up tying a little knot in the side, but I’ll wear it just normal to run in. I have an old Breeze tank, but I love the keyhole back on the newer version.

img_4951

The awesome part was that I got to keep the entire outfit as a thank you. The shoes are really comfortable and I’ve been wearing them to walk the dogs. They’re not as supportive as my current shoes so I plan on giving them a whirl after the race. If they don’t work out for running I’ll happily wear them around. I wore the pants on Friday morning and they were great, but most of my cropped pants are Nike so I didn’t expect anything different. I’m sure I’ll get a ton of use out of the top.

The event was fun and I saw a few of my friends there and one of our run group coaches. I even snagged a great deal on some VIP tickets for a late summer music festival through the silent auction. The other models included other runners, strength and yoga teachers that work with our training group, and a few local news anchors. I had a great time hanging out and getting to know everyone.

With Hilary and Marissa after the show.
With Hilary and Marissa after the show.

This was my first late night of the week which I’m not used to, but Wednesday was another late night. On Wednesday we had a work event – mani/pedis! Our media reps from Pandora (the streaming music service, not the bracelets..) invited our department for an evening of wine, snacks, and pampering. I haven’t had a mani/pedi in almost a year and this nail bar was awesome. The pedicure was really relaxing and I was able to choose nail color that wasn’t OPI or Essie. I love OPI and Essie, but it’s nice to change it up! One reason I don’t get pedi’s very much is that it’s hard to find a place that seems clean enough. Spoiler alert: Those jets in the jet tub nail salons are full of bacteria, yuck! This nail bar is similar to the salon I go to where they use copper tubs, but what’s unique here is the option of adding something to the warm water. Choices include scented epson salts, coffee, oatmeal, rose petals, etc. They all serve a different purpose, but I chose epson salts because that’s always the most relaxing in my opinion.

Much needed!
Much needed!

My husband I spent most of the weekend enjoying the beautiful weather. After a post-run nap on Saturday we headed to a downtown area of one of the suburbs in our area for some drinks & a late lunch. It was so nice to sit out on the patio and not be cold.

So yummy!
So yummy!

We had a great afternoon outside in the sunshine and then spent some time last night watching The Barkley Marathons about the crazy ultra marathon in Tennesee. It was really well made and we both enjoyed it. That race is crazy! I know some awesome ultra marathoners that are really good at what they do and I would love to see them take that race on someday.

For now, I have my Boston app set to track the insane amount of people I know running tomorrow. I am so thrilled that my friend Nicole has finally made it public that she’s running Boston 11 weeks pregnant! I am over the moon for her and her husband and I think this will make her Boston experience extra special. Two other members of my running group got married on Friday and they are kicking off their honeymoon by running Boston. So many ways that tomorrow’s Boston Marathon will be extra special to some people that I get the privilege to run with from time to time.

As for me, I’m ready for taper!

4 thoughts on “Glass City Half Marathon Training: Week Fifteen

  1. Congrats on making it to race week! Believe me, I know how you feel about being so over training. I feel like a training robot sometimes. This weekend I actually got a lot done besides running, and it felt so nice – it’s the first time in weeks I’ve felt like a normal person (to be fair, I think the weather helped!).

    That’s really cool that you got to model clothes for a GOTR fundraiser – and keep them! Your first modeling gig. Don’t forget us little people when you make it big, LOL.

    Sounds like you had a great week. I always enjoy how your recaps incorporate more life stuff than running. I never would have given Columbus Ohio a second thought before finding your blog.

    As for Boston tomorrow, I feel like I need a spreadsheet just to keep track of all the people I need to follow. Every year more people I know are running it. It will definitely make the workday go by a little faster!

    1. I think I’ll stick to my day job, but it was fun to play model for the day. And you just wait – post race week we have a little work outting that is sure to be entertaining. Columbus is awesome, I love living here! And I didn’t even think about tracking Boston making the work day go faster and now I’m even more excited.

Leave a Reply

