The Week I Didn’t Feel Like Running

This past week was rough and I just did not feel like running. I think it had a lot to do with the weather. Monday morning I woke up and it was 39 degrees. Yeah, 39 degrees in late-May. Not seasonal for us at all. I’m so over wearing long sleeves and long pants on a run. I don’t want to be chilly at the beginning of a run anymore. I just want to get out of bed, throw on a tank top and shorts, and get out and sweat. I don’t even mind having to bring water with me on shorter runs. I ended up waiting until Monday afternoon to run. The weather was in the 60s by then so a tank top and shorts worked. I hadn’t done any speed work since the race a month ago and after a mile warm up decided to do 3×1 mile repeats just to get my legs moving. It felt great, I felt refreshed and happy to be out there again.

Tuesday morning I did get up and go out for a run. We had a work-related dinner for my husband Tuesday night so I didn’t want to have to get up on Wednesday morning and go. I took it slow and enjoyed it, I think I was refreshed from the evening speed/warm session the night before. I managed to get up Thursday and get some miles in, too. Friday I woke up with my alarm and then went back to sleep. It was a long week at work and for once I wanted to do a Friday evening run. With my Saturday race being in the evening, I didn’t have to get up early in the morning and I figured it was a good way to get some long miles in. After work on Friday I headed to the trail for 8 solo miles. There were a lot of bike commuters, but minimal walker/runners. It was a great way to unwind from the week, but overall it was just not a week I felt like running. That aside, I still have to maintain fitness for marathon training so I managed to get in around 28 miles including Saturday evening’s race. The race was great and I had fun, but I’ll write a separate recap about that.

I think we all face days/weeks we don’t really feel like running. There are two choices to make: skip the run or head out for the run. It can be a tricky decision especially when trying to avoid burn out. For me, it’s important to find a good balance between giving in and not running and being disciplined and getting a run in. Sometimes I will go out and not run as far as I originally planned. I need to maintain close to 30 miles a week right now, but 2-3 miles won’t make a huge difference. It’s easy to find excuses not to run (too tired, too sore, too busy at work), but moving past those excuses and getting my butt out the door during fitness maintenance is what will help me get where I want to be during marathon training.

Saturday morning was rainy and dreary so my husband and I spent most of the morning laying around and relaxing. I had an afternoon haircut scheduled and my husband headed out for some errands before we met back up at home and headed out to the race. Sunday we woke up to a beautiful, sunny day. We decided to head downtown to one of the more urban metro parks and brought the dogs for a morning of outdoor time.

Climbing wall at Scioto Audubon park
Climbing wall at Scioto Audubon park

There is a dog park area at Scioto Audubon so first we headed there and let the dogs have some time off leash running around and exploring. Archie tried really hard to get some other dogs to chase him, but he mostly ended up running around by himself. Gus tends to just sniff and explore, but his tail was up and wagging so he was relaxed and having a good time. The Asian Festival was happening at the other end of the park, so we walked the dogs up to check out the Dragon Boat races and other things happening at the festival.

Dragon boat races
Dragon boat races

The races were fun and there were a lot of people there watching. Since there are so many large companies based in Columbus, it was corporate teams facing off. This particular race was Nationwide, Huntington Bank, and JP Morgan Chase. Nationwide won by quite a bit and I heard someone mention that they had won a lot last year, too. Archie loved all of the attention he got at the festival and Gus just sort of hung back (he’s an introvert). We grabbed some food from the Hawaiian food truck. I got the honey roll sandwich with grilled chicken, fresh pineapple, and sriracha aioli  and my husband got a honey roll sandwich with pork. It was delicious!

Mmmm, my first taste of Hawaiian-style food
Mmmm, my first taste of Hawaiian-style food

 

The pups hanging out while we ate
The pups hanging out while we ate

We spent almost 2 hours of our morning down at the park, so after our mini-lunch we decided to head home. It was a great Sunday morning and I’m glad we were able to get out and enjoy the weather. The pups came out to the race Saturday night, so overall it was a big weekend of adventures for them!

This week the weather is supposed to finally warm up and stay warm. The irony of that happening is that the first few weeks of running in warm weather is frustrating. My heart rate tends to skyrocket as my body adapts to the heat which makes for some very very slow runs. Right now my legs have not been wanting to run slow, so the next few weeks (possibly even month) are going to be a battle. I will likely continue to take at least one run a week where I don’t wear my monitor and just run easy and not worry about it. Hopefully this will keep me from feeling too frustrated and trying to push too hard. I have another race in 2 weeks so I’m thankful I will at least have 2 weeks of heat adaptation under my belt for that one. After that, the real work begins as marathon training season arrives.

For now, I am really looking forward to having Memorial Day off and enjoying a 3-day weekend!

2 thoughts on “The Week I Didn’t Feel Like Running

  1. The time before you start marathon training is almost harder than the training itself. Since you pretty much “have” to run a certain number of times/miles per week to maintain fitness, it feels like training; but since it’s NOT training, you’re not pumped about it, and you kind of hate the fact that you can’t enjoy the last bit of unstructured down time you’ll have for quite a while, so it can sometimes feel like a drag to get out the door.

    I’m eager to hear how your race went! Judging by your Insta postings it seems like you had a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

