Shamrock Training Update: 2 Weeks until Race Day

This year is just flying by. It’s hard to believe it’s already March! February came and went – and was oddly warm most of the time.

shamrock

After a week of shuffling around my training schedule to fit in work travel, I ended up coming down with a pretty nasty cold. Despite being down and out for two days last week, I still managed to get in all but 2 miles of my scheduled peak week. The weekend ended with a 14 mile long run on Saturday followed by a 7 mile run on Sunday.

Neither run was very enjoyable and both days I was ready for it to be over. I did 5 of my 7 Sunday miles at a “comfortably hard” pace which ended up being around a 8:30 pace. My husband and I went to a local park and I did laps around the lake while he walked the dogs. There was a bad headwind for about a half mile of each lap and it just kind of sucked. I was really happy when it was over.

I went to my run club on Saturday for my 14 miler. The route was pretty nice, but overall I’ve decided I will definitely be finding a new club for summer training. Everyone at this group is friendly and our fluid station volunteers are great, but it’s really just a bunch of individuals that show up and run a prescribed route. There isn’t much camaraderie and I notice a lot of people running alone. I have another group in mind that I will be getting in touch with sometime after Shamrock that I hope will feel more community-oriented.


Overall, my training for this race has been pretty blah. I mentioned in my last post that I’ve been getting out and getting my miles in, but I haven’t been training with the intent I do when I really have a goal. After I decided to officially switch to the half marathon, it seemed that each week something new came up that held me back from getting in my training the way I wanted. My body just hasn’t been into this training cycle.

I’ve been averaging around 30-35 miles a week which is fine, but my speed work has been pretty much non-existent. In order to have gone into this race PR-ready, I feel I would have either needed more weekly miles or more intensity at my current mileage. When I got my PR in the fall, I was coming off of a great marathon training cycle. I wasn’t sure I was recovered enough to PR, but I knew, physically, I was in shape for one. This time around, I just don’t feel my speed is there.

To be honest, I’m not upset about it. I did a lot of great, easy running the past few months. Sometimes things just don’t come together in a training cycle and this has just been one of those times. I’d much rather listen to my body and go into marathon training strong than burn out trying to push myself to a half marathon PR.

The good news is, I have a good base for marathon training. Shamrock will be a good test of fitness to help me determine where I am as I get ready to train this summer. I plan to go out and run a smart race, but see how I’m feeling and possibly test the waters a bit with pace if I’m feeling up to it. If I crash and burn, then I’ll know my current limit and what kind of work I’m looking at this summer. If I come out strong, I will have some serious thinking to do in terms of training and race goals for the fall.

One thing I know for sure is that I will need to put in some serious work after I take a month off to do some unstructured, fun running.

Some early blooms
Some early blooms
One thought on “Shamrock Training Update: 2 Weeks until Race Day

  1. A foundation of 30-35 weekly miles is a great foundation for marathon training. And you did it while juggling a new job, work travel, and not being really into training. I think that’s really impressive!

Leave a Reply

